We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Fattest Koala I've seen :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary

Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary
593 Briggs Road, Brighton, Tasmania 7030, Australia
03 6268 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary like an insider
Top Rated
$126*
and up
Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary (pronounced “Bon-a-rong” - Aboriginal meaning “Native Companion”) was established in 1981 as a sanctuary for injured and orphaned wildlife and is Tasmania's most popular wildlife park. At Bonorong you will see native animals which are extinct everywhere but Tasmania such as the famous Tassie Devil, Tasmanian Bettong, Eastern Quoll and Tasmanian Pademelon. You will also see favourites like wombats, koalas, kangaroos, possums, lizards, native birds and so many more. The animals of Bonorong are loved and cherished by all of the staff here at the Park and we are sure you will love them too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place! Fattest Koala I've seen :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To my surprise my kids didn't enjoy seeing the Devils, which i talked to them so much about before the trip. Once they spotted the free roaming kangaroos, they spend the rest of their time here feeding them. Note that the kangaroo feeds are given free once you've paid your entrance fee. The guide is very detail during the tour and can see they are a bunch of passionate animal lovers!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    107
    29
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
“A good place to see Australian wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a small sanctuary, much of it used for rehabilitation and breeding programs. It's about a 30 minute drive from Hobart and despite the rather high admission price, is a nice place to take overseas visitors who want to see Australian native animals and especially Tasmanian Devils. There are very informative information sessions at 11.30 and 2pm. You can get very close to the animals.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“The night feeding tour is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The only negative as to Bonorong is that unlike Cradle Mountain, here you aren't allowed to handle any of the Devils.
The evening feeding tour is well worth the cost. The experience is relaxed, and the chance to swing a Devil who is hanging on to a hung of meat is, well, sort of a rush.
The Devils have a new enclosure that is a real step up from the pits the Devils were living in when we visited in early 2011. The little critters have plenty of room to run around.
The drive is am easy, short run from central Hobart, but we're still happy we used our GPS to find our way back when the sun went down.
We highly recommend this activity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited here with our two children 4 and 7. park was well laid out with an awesome view. Kids loved feeding the Kangaroos.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm glad that we were able to get to Bonorong. We did hire a car to drive around for a few days and fortunately we found this sanctuary online before leaving home. It was easy to locate, not far out of Hobart.
Included with the price of admission is food for the Wallabies and an introductory tour of the park by one of the knowledgeable and passionate guides. There was a cute baby Wombat, Koalas, Tasmanian Devils, Quolls, Wallabies, Emu, birds, snakes and more.
Cory was sweet and allowed us to follow along as he fed some of the animals. It was especially exciting for us to see the Devils being fed and seeing first hand that they are not the scary creatures we previously thought (now I think they are kinda cute). I don't think we would have seen the Quolls without Cory, because they came out as he fed them.
The staff members here really care about the animals in their care. The objective is to return animals to the wild when possible. They want to educate the public about wildlife; things like a dead Marsupial could have a live infant in its pouch, and what to do with an injured animal.
I highly recommend a visit to this sanctuary. Leave an extra donation and/or make a purchase in their gift shop. They can use the extra funds to keep this terrific place open.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.