We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The night feeding tour is GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary

Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary
593 Briggs Road, Brighton, Tasmania 7030, Australia
03 6268 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$127*
and up
Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and...
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Brighton
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary (pronounced “Bon-a-rong” - Aboriginal meaning “Native Companion”) was established in 1981 as a sanctuary for injured and orphaned wildlife and is Tasmania's most popular wildlife park. At Bonorong you will see native animals which are extinct everywhere but Tasmania such as the famous Tassie Devil, Tasmanian Bettong, Eastern Quoll and Tasmanian Pademelon. You will also see favourites like wombats, koalas, kangaroos, possums, lizards, native birds and so many more. The animals of Bonorong are loved and cherished by all of the staff here at the Park and we are sure you will love them too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“The night feeding tour is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The only negative as to Bonorong is that unlike Cradle Mountain, here you aren't allowed to handle any of the Devils.
The evening feeding tour is well worth the cost. The experience is relaxed, and the chance to swing a Devil who is hanging on to a hung of meat is, well, sort of a rush.
The Devils have a new enclosure that is a real step up from the pits the Devils were living in when we visited in early 2011. The little critters have plenty of room to run around.
The drive is am easy, short run from central Hobart, but we're still happy we used our GPS to find our way back when the sun went down.
We highly recommend this activity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    95
    27
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited here with our two children 4 and 7. park was well laid out with an awesome view. Kids loved feeding the Kangaroos.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm glad that we were able to get to Bonorong. We did hire a car to drive around for a few days and fortunately we found this sanctuary online before leaving home. It was easy to locate, not far out of Hobart.
Included with the price of admission is food for the Wallabies and an introductory tour of the park by one of the knowledgeable and passionate guides. There was a cute baby Wombat, Koalas, Tasmanian Devils, Quolls, Wallabies, Emu, birds, snakes and more.
Cory was sweet and allowed us to follow along as he fed some of the animals. It was especially exciting for us to see the Devils being fed and seeing first hand that they are not the scary creatures we previously thought (now I think they are kinda cute). I don't think we would have seen the Quolls without Cory, because they came out as he fed them.
The staff members here really care about the animals in their care. The objective is to return animals to the wild when possible. They want to educate the public about wildlife; things like a dead Marsupial could have a live infant in its pouch, and what to do with an injured animal.
I highly recommend a visit to this sanctuary. Leave an extra donation and/or make a purchase in their gift shop. They can use the extra funds to keep this terrific place open.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved the range of animals andthe relaxed feel of the place. We had been told about it at our conference and the infectious enthusiasm of the owner made us want to go and it came across in the park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we did the evening tour it was truly amazing bernatte was our guide and she excellent we learned

about the animals were allowed to feed the tassie devils and possums plus all other animals we got too touch the koala and the kangaroo were everywere it was a truly great experience we were very pleased with this tour would not hesitate to recommend it you see more of the animals in the evening and its just your group so you learn so much more thanks bernatte for all your info it was
great one last thing you are allowed in some of the cages to feed the animals on the evening tour
well worth it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.