We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary

Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary
593 Briggs Road, Brighton, Tasmania 7030, Australia
03 6268 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary like an insider
Top Rated
$126*
and up
Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary (pronounced “Bon-a-rong” - Aboriginal meaning “Native Companion”) was established in 1981 as a sanctuary for injured and orphaned wildlife and is Tasmania's most popular wildlife park. At Bonorong you will see native animals which are extinct everywhere but Tasmania such as the famous Tassie Devil, Tasmanian Bettong, Eastern Quoll and Tasmanian Pademelon. You will also see favourites like wombats, koalas, kangaroos, possums, lizards, native birds and so many more. The animals of Bonorong are loved and cherished by all of the staff here at the Park and we are sure you will love them too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very small sanctuary and growing. Great to see the wombat and Tasmanian devils close up and get a very informative commentary about the animals. They state that the money all goes towards the protection and saving of the animals in particular the Tasmanian Devils.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    107
    29
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A great place, but could be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I hadn't visited this place in 4 years so was keen to return, entry price was quite steep ($30+) and for that one would have expected to not buy the roo food. Staff attentive and enthusiastic, maybe embaressed about the cost of entry.
Walked slowly around (had an elderly father-in-law) looking forward to seeing the roos expecting them to be bouncing around as they used to be, but it had all changed. Passed a number of animals, the Tasmanian devil enclosures were numerous (and as I am not a fan of this animal) kept walking ... past the quolls (entertaining) koalas (not interested) I wandered if there were any roos... found them in a large paddock but as it was mid day most had fed, or were under trees... (trick is folks go in the morning) the path was under construction so there was only 1/2 a dozen within feeding distance. Disappointing
I remember once they had a cafe mid way offering real billy tea and damper, scones etc it was closed so there was no where to get a drink, sadly while it is undergoing rnovation, updating I found it soul-less. Staff were happy to talk when spoken to but seemed distant? I hope it improves, I wont return as quickly...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Don't miss a nocturnal visit to Bonorong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our private visit one evening in October with knowledgeable guide Monique was a fabulous experience, a real highlight of our 3-week trip to Australia. It was worth every penny to be able to have the whole park to ourselves and to talk to Fred the ancient cockatoo, rock a motherless wombat, hop around with mating kangaroos, and feed a fierce-jawed Tasmanian devil, among seeing many other rescued animals . Don't miss this experience if you get to Tasmania.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always wanted to pet a koala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing visit! We had seen kangaroos in the wild, but having the chance to visit injured and rescued animals and caress Kangaroos and koalas is a lifelong dream come true. The work they do is exemplary. The staff are helpful, smiling, and well-informed. They even have a "retiree village" for older Tasmanian Devils to live out their lives in peace and good health. Kudos to the boss and his staff--a great change of pace, behind the scenes with the animals. You will enjoy the visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nocturnal Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Three of us arranged to have a nocturnal tour of the Sanctuary. Bob was our volunteer guide for the night and he shared his wealth of knowledge with us as he guided us through the park. There were only the three of us in the party so we had his full attention. It was the high light of my time in Tasmania, as we got up close to the various animals and birds without stressing them. We got to cuddle a wombat and feed the Potoroos and Sugar Gliders. We heard about the various animals in the sanctuary and the efforts expeded by the staff to rehabilitate them and get as many as possible back into the wild. It was a magical evening and Bob never hurried us or gave the impression we were holding him back. He spent four hours touring us through and we enjoyed every minute. He went at our pace and spent as long as we needed with each animal. It was definitely money well spent. Thank you for the great evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.