We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent way to see Salties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises

Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises
Cape Tribulation Road, Lower Daintree | 400m upstream of Car Ferry, Queensland 4873, Australia
0740987131
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 1 1/4 hour Daintree River wildlife cruise on a solar electric boat, so it is nice and quiet and there are no petrol fumes or exhaust and good for getting close to the wildlife. We are the only boat with "Croc Cam"; a digital video with a very good zoom for showing hard to see animals on a big screen. Wildlife includes Salt Water Crocodiles, snakes, frogs, and birds and also interpretation of the mangrove environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Quimper, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent way to see Salties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

All the companies offer the same cruise at the same price but this one is more respectful of the environment and has a smaller boat (we were only 8 in the boat whereas the other companies were a bit crowded). The boat can come closer to wildlife and everybody has a good seat to see crocodiles very well.
The guide was nice and taught us a lot about crocodiles and their habits. We did this cruise in the morning and we saw 5 crocodiles including the big male “Scarface” and also a snake and other wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    27
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab little boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I mainly chose the solar whisper because I wanted to experience the electric eco friendly boat as much as all the wild life on the Daintree. I was not disappointed on either front. We saw several crocodiles, some great birds and a snake. One of the surprise highlights wildlife wise were the crabs though! The magnifying video camera was a massive bonus in letting you see detail from a safe distance. The service was good, the tea, coffee, cold drinks and biscuits were a bonus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Croc tour with the lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The moment Jo greeted us until she said goodbye it was wonderful. David was informative without lecturing, more just a conservation between friends with some humour thrown in. The boat was just the right size and so quiet you could really feel the enviroment and hear David. We saw crocodiles of all sizes and ages. My husband and I were both so pleased we chose this tour. Thanks to you both. Tea and coffee with biscuits provided.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service with great information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The husband and wife who run the business were very friendly. The tour was great, very informative. We saw a few crocs - from little babies to ones a good few meters long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our recent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a wonderful hour we had on the Solar Whisper! It was a the 3.30pm time slot and the birds and other wildlife were coming to life. We only saw one small crocodile of about 2 y.o. I didn't matter though as the cruise was so peaceful and scenic. Dave was a great guide. He knew his birds, plant species and crocodiles. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Cairns. I highly recommend the solar whisper.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Solar Whisper Daintree River Wildlife Cruises to your Saves list