We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really informative, the best chance of spotting rainforest wildlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper Creek Wilderness

Cooper Creek Wilderness
Cape Tribulation Rd | PO Box 590, Queensland 4873, Australia
(07) 4098 9126
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooper Creek Wilderness is famous for its magnificent Fan Palm Galleries. This rainforest-relict from Gondwana is inspirational and exceptional. Old-world rainforest, pristine and primitive, needs to be experienced on a guided interpreted tour with a local expert to fully appreciate its rarity and complexity. We recommend both day and night tours.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really informative, the best chance of spotting rainforest wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We did the night walk through the rainforest. We are so glad we did the tour we learned so much in the 2.5 hours. It enhanced the rest of the time we were in the rainforest. To name but a few of the sights we saw flying foxes, micro bats , all types of sleeping birds, bandicoots, frogs, toads , insects......., this tour is well worth doing, rent a car take the ferry across the mossman river, do the tour and then go back home ... It is worth the effort!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    6
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I visited a few of the boardwalks around the area and felt disappointed and underwhelmed. We then decided to book the 4 hour morning great wilderness walk with Neil. This was a great choice as it enabled us to see the 'true' Daintree rainforest.

Neil was SO knowledgeable and informative. I loved listening to his viewpoints on various issues and how passionate he is. There is no doubt about it - he really knows his stuff!! We saw so much and learnt so much. It was one of the best value trips we did in the area.

Neil and the beautiful rainforest he lives in, really made our experience in the area so much better. I can't recommend this tour enough.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

After 'relaxing' on our honeymoon in the hustle and bustle of Sydney, my partner and I booked both the day and night walk as a way to see the Daintree region, whilst we spent a few days in northern QLD before leaving Oz. As it was at the edge of the season, it was only my partner and I on both walks. The guides were fantastic and answered all of our questions, whilst giving us a look at the history of this beautiful rainforest. The day walk was great for seeing the fauna, whilst the night walk allowed us to see the rainforest come alive. We wee fortunate (or unfortunate depending on your view), to have our path crossed by a 2m Amethystine Python. Had my partner not looked left as we were looking right, it would have crossed about 1 metre in front of us without us ever noticing. If you get the chance to do this, it is well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very informative - and a surprise guest at the end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Prue was a wealth of knowledge on the plants and some of the animals that make up the rainforest on her property. A very welcome and passionate insight into the ecology and issues that conservationists are facing to protect this amazing part of the world. Prue was a wonderful host and after the walk, when we were feeling the heat and asked about any nearby swimming holes - she graciously offered her private swimming creek/hole on her property for us to cool off. It was gloriously cool and refreshing - and even better - after walking back to our car we spotted a cassowary walk out of the forest and around her yard - it was magnificent and left us feeling like we had witnesses a magical part of the world that afternoon - thank you Prue, for the tour AND for all that you do to protect the things you are so passionate about.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, Respectful Guide through the Rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We took the two-hour rainforest walk with Prue. She is very knowledgeable about the subject and explains well the factors that make the Daintree rainforest unique in the world -- and so important to protect. The walk itself is not difficult. There is no gain or loss of elevation. But there are a lot of roots and other pitfalls for the unwary.

There were just six of us on the walk; if there were a larger crowd, some might have difficulty hearing the soft-spoken Prue. But that wasn't an issue on the day we went.

If you want to zipline through the canopy, this isn't for you. But if you want to learn about what you are seeing, I don't imagine there's any better place to start.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper Creek Wilderness also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to Cooper Creek Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper Creek Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.