We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour so good we came back for another!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper Creek Wilderness

Cooper Creek Wilderness
Cape Tribulation Rd | PO Box 590, Queensland 4873, Australia
(07) 4098 9126
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooper Creek Wilderness is famous for its magnificent Fan Palm Galleries. This rainforest-relict from Gondwana is inspirational and exceptional. Old-world rainforest, pristine and primitive, needs to be experienced on a guided interpreted tour with a local expert to fully appreciate its rarity and complexity. We recommend both day and night tours.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A tour so good we came back for another!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and were taken on a night walk thanks to Neil and were so impressed by the amazing surroundings and quality of the tour that we came back for the 4 hour walk. We highly recommend both tours, and not only that, but staying in this beautiful area for as long as possible. There is so much to see and explore in the Daintree that simply can't be experienced at a glance. We stayed for 7 days as part of our honeymoon and these tours - the chance to delve so deep into the heart of the rainforest - were one of the highlights of our trip. Neil was extremely knowledgeable and his passion for this area, inspiring. We learnt so much more on our walks with Cooper Creek than we possibly could on the freely available boardwalks - we recommend going on these boardwalks after one the guided tours as you will have a much better understanding of the forest around you and appreciate it so much more. Thanks again Neil, we hope to return in the future!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    6
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring Rainforest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 2 enjoyable and educational hours with Pru on her beautiful rainforest property. This is by far the best way to get up close and personal with the many unique plants, trees, and palms of the Daintree. Pru was extremely knowledgeable and her explanations were fascinating to my family and I. We were so happy that Carmen at Cockatoo Retreat suggested this amazing tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A day of Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I were staying in Cairns and decided to take a day trip up to the Daintree Rainforest. The trip was a bit pricey and since no transportation was provided we had to rent a car which added to the expenses.

The day started out with a crocodile cruise but unfortunately we only spotted one crocodile :(. The guide kept saying that he saw many crocodiles the day before but I'm not sure if that made us feel any better. The cruise was relaxing however and it was nice to look at the cool trees along the river.

Next we went to our lunch location which was at a cute resort. The food was descent but nothing special. Then we were off on our day tour with our tour guide Prue who lived on the edge of the property. Luckily, it was only my boyfriend and I so it was an intimate hike. She was very sweet and knowledgable about the flora and fauna there. She even knew all about the cassowary we spotted earlier that day. After our hike we took a dip in the river on the property and our guide brought us out warm tea. The was also just my boyfriend and I so it was great to spend a quiet moment with nature with just the two of us. After our swim we headed to dinner at a cute BBQ place. The food was good and the atmosphere was relaxing.

Lastly we went on our hike through rainforest in the pitch black night guided by flash lights. Even though it was the same woods the night time brought out a completely different perspective. We focused on finding creatures which our guide was excellent at spotting and telling us what they were.

All in all, we really enjoyed our day and felt it was worth while even though expensive. It may have been better to buy the package piecemeal and then go wherever we wanted for meals but it was also nice to have the day planned out for us. I highly recommend this tour!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating night time tour with excellent guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did our evening tour last night with Neil. Armed with torches and wearing our walking boots we set off and immediately saw a golden orb spider. Neil led us further into the rainforest where it was pitch dark without the torches. We saw numerous insects, animals etc and Neil told us about the whole ecosystem of the rainforest as well as about individual species. We loved every minute of the walk and asked lots of questions which Neil happily answered. I recommend that anyone visiting the daintree region should do this tour as you'll learn so much more than just walking the boardwalks, discovery centre etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“17 years of knowledge shared in 2 hours...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The guides Neil and Pru (son and mother) - we did two tours, the first was so amazing. the night we arrived we did the night tour thru the forest, which was amazing, we say dozens of white lipped frogs, 3 boyd forest dragons and one water dragon.... and countless other things. the wilderness tour (by pro) was no less amazing, but more focused on flora and fauna than wildlife.. my three kids (9, 11 and 12) were all thoroughly engaged the whole time, as was I.. They are genuine and kind and amazingly knowledgeable.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper Creek Wilderness also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to Cooper Creek Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper Creek Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.