We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rainy day at mossman gorge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
212r Mossman Gorge Road | Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$328*
and up
Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise...
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A rainy day at mossman gorge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Mossman gorge has always been one of my favourite places in far North Queensland and I have had many fun days up there. So when it was a rainy day I packed up the kids and headed up there. I had read mixed reviews about the new centre . It was the first time I had used it. Anyway I was so annoyed to arrive there and be told it was raining so the shuttle buses were not running . There was no signs notifying you and the staff were very unhelpful . All we could do is turn around and head home . Before the centre I would have given it 5 but now a 3 and you had better ring if it is raining which happens a lot in the wet season.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    163
    40
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Totally refreshing place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in Palm Cove in January where the weather was more of a tropical heat - this caused the water in the resort pool as well as the ocean to remain warm. Mossman Gorge provided me with that refreshing swim and a place to go to escape from the heat.

The gorge itself was set in a beautiful back drop of trees and a some what peaceful calm (minus tourists).

To get there we caught a bus from the main centre which was only a couple of dollars. It was good to see aborigines work at the Mossman Gorge Centre....support the local community everyone!!

The trip to Mossman Gorge from Palm Cove was approximately 45 minutes.

Note: A local in Palm Cove told me that Crystal Cascades in Cairns is a closer option for those staying nearer to Cairns and its where the locals hang out!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yeah, it's ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place to visit. But I think if you didnt come here during your visits to Cairns Region you really wouldnt miss much. We were waiting at the newly built departure point platform to come back down to visitor centre (thinking ok, this is obviously where u catch the bus from). We waited there, a bus came, dropped off guests 30 metres up at walkway entrance, then we thinking " I surpose he comes over here now to pick up departing visitors" He then was just waited there, then drove right past us!!! Haha wouldnt u think he would stop and say departure point is over there, or stop to get us, or even point or something!!(note his bus was empty on way down) So we waited another 20mins for next bus. They may want to invest in some drop off, pick up point signs. That was pretty poor. We had a laugh about it. Wont advise people to go based on our experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
280 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Refreshing on a hot day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We picked up sandwiches and drinks in Mossman and came wearing our bathing suits. Great place to cool off on a hot summer day. We loved the 2k walk and did it in between swimming and picnic. You have to bring your own drinks and carry out your garbage. Saw a few wild turkeys, butterflies, and dragonflies. The interpretive signs helped us to learn about the trees and other plants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful and refreshing, but be cautious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I hesitate to write anything negative about the Gorge because it is absolutely beautiful and worth a visit, but want to point out a few things. Unlike other visitors, we were unbothered by the cost for the shuttle and found the visitors' center pleasant and transportation convenient and comfortable, so no criticisms there. Before leaving the bus, the driver gave us a map of the park and we decided to do the 2km walk before going for a swim. The rainforest area is beautiful and well worth a trip, but we found the walking loop to be a bit confusing. The map was not completely accurate and had a couple of extra turn-offs that confused us and another group of visitors. That said, if you stay on the trails and go early in the day, you likely won't get too far off track.
Also, heed the warnings in the swimming area. The gorge is so pretty and the water looks calm, but if you approach the rocks, the current is swift and can sweep you away quickly! There were plenty of young children and families visiting while we were there, but I managed to lose my footing and required rescue!
Visit the gorge and enjoy its refreshing beauty, but do be careful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Daintree Region, Queensland
Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation
 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mossman Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.