We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful beach I've visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Bay

Captain's Bay
Island Harbour, Anguilla
Improve this listing
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the island's northeastern coast, this beach is known for its remote location and large surf.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach I've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The road to Captain's Bay was a little treacherous and you definitely need 4-wheel drive for certain stretches, but the journey is well worth it. We had this beautiful beach to ourselves for the day. The crashing waves and strong tide make it dangerous to do anything more than wade into the water, but it also makes for a striking backdrop. This beach is on my "must visit" list for any return trip to Anguilla.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This beach is a little hard to get to and you should be aware of the possibility of rip tides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Most secluded beach on the island. Packed a lunch, brought a bottle of Champagne and a beach umbrella and had the entire place to ourselves all day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Savannah Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a spectacular beach. Very rugged and can be windy. You only want to walk it then. However when calm it is beautiful swimming and snorkeling. Notg the easiest beach to get to and the roads down to it require a four wheel drive vehicle and even then it is a fun ride!!! However well worth the effort when you get there. Has a couple of little lagoon areas at each end of this enormous stretch of sand. Good for the little ones. One small casual bar/restaurant at one end. Not always open though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Inacessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The road to Captain's Bay is impossible for normal cars, and challenging for 4x4s. And it is now overlooked by a gigantic villa which definitely thinks it has the beach to itself (but it is unfinished, so who knows?)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Favorite Beach in Anguilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2003

My husband and I spent the last two weeks of March 2003 in Anguilla. This was our first visit there. At first, we thought we made a huge mistake. The island itself is not very pretty, but the beaches are ABSOLUTELY amazing. Captain's Bay was my favorite. This beach is on the northeast part of the island on the Atlantic side. We were told the surf can be extremely rough, but we got lucky. The day we went, the surf was mild. Not a good place to snorkel. The beach itself was desolated, the sand blindingly white (as all the beaches on Anguilla are), the color of the water is a wow. You definitely need a four wheel drive to get there, but I'm telling you it's worth it. We saw dolphins swimming by. If you want to feel like you're on a deserted beach, go to Captain's Bay. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Bay also viewed

Island Harbour, Anguilla
Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
 
Anguilla, Caribbean
Island Harbour, Anguilla
 

Been to Captain's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.