We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of hype. Very expensive food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scilly Cay

Scilly Cay
Island Harbour, Anguilla
264-497-5123
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Landmarks & points of interest, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An extremely small inlet in the middle of Island Harbour that is barely big enough for the restaurant that is located on it.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lots of hype. Very expensive food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

You will pay for the experience. There are many better meals on Anguilla for less money (see Veya). We ordered two lobsters. They were split in half and grilled, both were very generous sizes. They were topped with a delicious sauce made in house, and a small side of pasta salad. The location is charming. The live music and rum punches make the experience more festive. And the owner brings his own island charm. But at $200 for two people, we may not return next time. There are plenty of lobsters on Anguilla for $50 and under.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    15
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Owner Runs Off Group of 8”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The owner (man) needs serious training on customer service! Sarcastic and rude. Free boat ride to the island was the only good part of this visit. Won't ever return.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wouldnt recommend !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Definitely a serious lunch !! Way over priced !! Yes you get a free boat ride over but 90.00 for lobster !
The gentleman who runs it is not a nice person. Arrogant to say the least. Had the kids working there quote us 5 dollars for a rum punch. If they were 5 dollars how come our bill was 175.00 when we left ? And there were only 4 of us and we each had 4 ??????????? I think he added wrong. I think he was adding on other the locals drinks to our tab !!!!!!!!!! Probably mad because we didnt spend 90.00 on a lobster. Not liked around the island either. I would head to Shoal Bay and eat at Uncle Ernies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Scilly Cay is a Serious Lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

No serious "foodie" should miss this fabulous Anguilla island landmark! We each year to our favorite lunch spot. Take the time and enjoy the day on this small off-shore island (a quick boat trip from land or while at sea). Eudoxie (aka "Gorgeous") and his wife Sandra (who retains her southern charm even after more than 20 years!) and their two sons, Brandon and Alexander, and their staff cater to their with an incredible feast of grilled fresh caught lobsters and crayfish (Sandra's special sauce is to die for!), and grilled chicken. Add to that Gorgeous's famed rum punch, a beautiful beach, sun and turquoise warm water surrounding their small island, and the day is complete. Well worth the distance and bit of trip to get there. Never disappointed!~

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when going here, but we were really surprised!

I won't describe the entire thing, as other reviewers have done that. But hitting the important points...

Good things:
- REALLY good food, huge portions. We had the crayfish and the chicken. My husband's plate of crayfish alone had 4. The chicken crayfish combo had 2 crayfish and probably 3/4 of a chicken. There was some garlic break and a nice pasta salad. Order quick when you get there though - the food takes a while - at least an hour.

- Cool little island. Fun to go there for the novelty of the whole thing. The owner was super friendly and nice.

Not so good things:
- The beach isn't going to be like you would have on other beaches. Don't go there for the beach. Not much room to lay out or a ton of room in general. And yes, lots of lizzards. But we didn't mind much - we sat at the tables under the covered areas and we were just fine and happy.

- No music when we were there. Bummer.

- Pricey. It was an expensive meal, especially for lunch. But, you really get a lot of food....so I'm not quite sure if I would say it's overpriced, per se. But we were a little surprised, but the food was plentiful and delicious, so it just about averaged out? I believe it was slightly cheaper if you booked it through the hotel (which we didn't realize).

This was overall a cool novelty and really some great (albeit expensive) food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scilly Cay also viewed

Anguilla, Caribbean
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
Anguilla, Caribbean
 

Been to Scilly Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scilly Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.