We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the beach...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scilly Cay

Scilly Cay
Island Harbour, Anguilla
264-497-5123
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An extremely small inlet in the middle of Island Harbour that is barely big enough for the restaurant that is located on it.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when going here, but we were really surprised!

I won't describe the entire thing, as other reviewers have done that. But hitting the important points...

Good things:
- REALLY good food, huge portions. We had the crayfish and the chicken. My husband's plate of crayfish alone had 4. The chicken crayfish combo had 2 crayfish and probably 3/4 of a chicken. There was some garlic break and a nice pasta salad. Order quick when you get there though - the food takes a while - at least an hour.

- Cool little island. Fun to go there for the novelty of the whole thing. The owner was super friendly and nice.

Not so good things:
- The beach isn't going to be like you would have on other beaches. Don't go there for the beach. Not much room to lay out or a ton of room in general. And yes, lots of lizzards. But we didn't mind much - we sat at the tables under the covered areas and we were just fine and happy.

- No music when we were there. Bummer.

- Pricey. It was an expensive meal, especially for lunch. But, you really get a lot of food....so I'm not quite sure if I would say it's overpriced, per se. But we were a little surprised, but the food was plentiful and delicious, so it just about averaged out? I believe it was slightly cheaper if you booked it through the hotel (which we didn't realize).

This was overall a cool novelty and really some great (albeit expensive) food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    15
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eh - just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I could see Scilly Cay from our balcony at the Arawak Beach Inn and thought taking the boat over for lunch would be a charming little experience and we could swim/snorkel/enjoy the beach. When we arrived, we found there were no menus - but we could order giant plates of grilled lobster or chicken. We were hoping for a light meal, not something that giant (in price or amount of food)! While there were beach chairs available, the sand was filled with lizards and hermit crabs. I wish we would have stayed at Shoal Bay East for awhile longer - and skipped this trip to Scilly Cay.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Go here if you're visiting Anguilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The owners are friendly and the food is great. I had the lobster and my wife had the crayfish. Everyone on Anguilla will let you know that the rum punches here are the strongest on the island and they're not kidding.

Just show up on the pier at Island Harbour on the East end of the island and the boat will come pick you up and take you over to Scilly Cay and bring you back when you're ready to leave. Take your snorkeling gear and you can snorkel around the island while they're preparing your food. We were probably there for 4 hours or so. You can stay all day if you want. They are only open Wednesday and Sunday and there will be a live band playing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic but expensive ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We took a day trip to anguilla and to scilly cay for lunch. We got there at 11am and were the first ones there - the island is beautiful! The conch shell fences, abundant lounge chairs and live music are awesome. So is the free ride to and from! The food is marvelous! The crayfish cannot be missed - yum! We enjoyed out time thoroughly, but have two gripes - one, be prepared to wait a long time (1.5 hours for us) for your food and two, be prepared to shell out a few hundred dollars for that delicious food. But, hey - you're on vacation, right?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pure bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Scilly Cay is a place that is like no other. It's almost like you are in the middle of a well-written fictional novel. Sandra and Eudoxie Wallace are super friendly and awesome cooks/mixologists [their son was not a bad barkeep himself]

From the way we arrived to the amazing lobster to Sandra's stories of the past 30 years is not to be missed. The boat fetched us from a few hundred yards away after he saw our group of 16 on the shore. We were greeted with Rum Punch and friendly smiles from all.

Everything is grilled because there is no electricity! I had chicken and lobster [that I split because the portions are huge] and still dream about the lobster back home in land-locked Arkansas. The sauce [a mustardy-garlic of sorts] perfectly complimented everything...even the standout side, pasta salad.

I recommend visiting this place over just about any other place in Anguilla. Make sure you wear a swimsuit and pencil in a whole day at Scilly Cay--you won't be sorry.

read about our awesome experience on my blog:
http://www.thelifeofjake.com/2014/01/the-one-in-anguilla-day-five-scilly-cay.html

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scilly Cay also viewed

Sandy Ground, Anguilla
Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
 
Anguilla, Caribbean
Anguilla, Caribbean
 

Been to Scilly Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scilly Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.