We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xibalba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Xibalba to your Saves list
Hotel Xibalba
Calle Merle Green No. 9 | Col. La Canada, Apartado Postal 33, Palenque 29960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Palenque
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location & great shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel is located in the La Canada area which is close to the main bus station and the collectivos to take you to Palenque.
The hotel has two buildings. We stayed in the original building. The lobby has an eyecatching big Mayan statue. The rooms have AC and are very simple, clean, have a small TV and the shower definitely rejuvenates you after a hard days' exploration at the ruins.
Our only issue was the walls being so thin and being unlucky to have noisy neighbours 2 nights in a row.
However, the staff are friendly and the hotcakes they serve for breakfast were really very good. Also there's a great Mexican restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    88
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
88
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Palenque. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby and the prices were decent as well. I would stay there again and recommend it to others as well.

Mayaruinsonly
Destination Expert - Guatemala

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchardstown, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very close to the bus stations (1st one - collectivo where we arrived from Guatemala and 2nd one - the main bus station of the city). Hotel located in the hotel zone in La Canada, which is 5-10 minute walk from the main town centre. Very nice room with AC and large clean bathroom. Excellent value for money. Can't comment on the restaurant as we did not use it at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had a little trouble checking in because, as is frequent in some places, they insist that your card has no credit when this was not the case. The receptionist wasn't particularly polite about telling us this either. I'm pretty sure it's systems but the lady on reception was insistent it was the card!

However the room was comfortable, spacious, had a safe, a good shower and everything we needed.

The hotel itself is in easy reach of the town, the bus station and the ruins so the location is bang on.

If you are thinking about Palenque, it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Wander down to the large roundabout and hail one of the taxis going to the ruins, I can't rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here because we were arriving in Palenque late at night and had to reserve beforehand, and since it was the high season, this was the only available hotel that we were able to find within our budget and that had a webpage. At first the prices seemed a bit high to me (we paid around $650 peso a night), but in the end I thought the hotel was worth the money. We had a double that overlooked the parking lot. It had a small TV, an air conditioner with remote control, and a comfortably-sized and very clean bathroom. The beds were comfortable, the water was hot, and the room was the quietest I've ever stayed in. I'm not sure if that was because the other guests were also quiet, or because the gentle hum of the air conditioner drowned out other noises, but I sure slept well here. When we checked out in the morning and had to wander around Palenque town all day waiting for our night bus, the reception let us keep our bags in a back room, which was great. The hotel is located in a nice, shady area (La Cañada) only a couple of blocks from town, and only a block away from the busses that go to the Palenque ruins. Overall, a very nice experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was a return trip tor me to the best garden-area boutique hotel in Palenque's beautiful "La Canada" garden district. Hotel Xibalba has a distinct Mayan decor of carved stellas. As always, I found the rooms clean, comfortable beds, AC and Hot water! Good food is found in the small restaurant. The price is Perfect as the best value in town!! The staff are attentive and friendly, the owners are onsite daily to assure each guest is comfortable. Many tours are also offered directly by the owner through Viajes Shivalva, which is another big Plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

we stayed here as part of a tour. The room was air conditioned and the beds very comfortable and everywhere was very clean. The location was great - away from the main part of the town, but surrounded by lush vegetation with lots of birds and monkeys!,.would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xibalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xibalba

Address: Calle Merle Green No. 9 | Col. La Canada, Apartado Postal 33, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xibalba Hotel, located in Palenque, Chiapas, Mexico, offers comfortable lodging in the relaxed atmosphere of a small hotel anxious to know and to please its guests. Our rates are very competitive, our advice steers tourists to intersting places, and we can tell you many things about Maya culture should you care to ask. Hotel Xibalba began modestly in 1992 and now, two renovations later, offers 35 clean, comfortable rooms in two adjacent locations. Our Don Carlos Restaurant features Mexican specialties at reasonable prices. Parking, in a safe private area, is free. We have two computers for guests. Wi-Fi internet access free, We offer laundry and dry cleaning service. You may reserve rooms at our hotel on-line from the comfort of your own computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Xibalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xibalba Hotel Palenque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xibalba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.