We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as good as it used to be...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palenque ruinas

Palenque ruinas
Chiapas mexico, Palenque, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Palenque
Attraction Details
San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as it used to be...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Many areas have been closed off for conservation of the sites. It is necessary because of the huge volume of visitors. I would recommend Tonina, the enemies city of Palenque, to be able to experience more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    50
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Loved these ruins! It was like walking through a village...
The think I liked the most is that you could enter them and climb them. This was a much nicer experience than for example chicen itza...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than Chichen Itza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we had a great tour guide who explained the history and numbers relating to Mayan beliefs. given time to wander around and see more hidden gems after tour and just soak in the atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pakal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pakal the Astronaut, awesome ruins in a beautiful jungle setting.
The Temple of the Inscriptions up close and personal after seeing it on tv
for so many years. The sacred cascades are magical, it's to bad you can't
jump in and cool off after climbing the temples.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lot to discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Palenque was beautiful. The day we went there were not too many people. We did not take a guide because we already visited a lot of ruins but what I heard when passing by other people with a guide was actually really interesting.
In Palenque you get the chance unlike in most other ruin sites to climb on top of some of the ruins, which is sometimes hard (I don't understand how these small Maya people did it, the stairs are usually superhigh!).

A lot of the ruins are still to be restaurated and in the middle of nature surrounding.

If you go here, take mosquito repellent! best to wear maybe something that covers most of your body but is really light. Humidity here is very high as well.
Take your time.... I don't know if guides rush you trough, but its a quite big site, I would not agree on an hour-set guided tour...

No food available to buy inside the park, you better take a snack and your own drinks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palenque ruinas also viewed

 

Been to Palenque ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palenque ruinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palenque ruinas to your Saves list