We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good for a group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Canada

Maya Canada
Canada St. 6 | Ecotourist Center la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
+52 916 345 0216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Reliably good for a group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was part of a large group staying just a few doors down so we ate here a number of times. The service is slow although we did have a large group with diverse requests. The food was reliably good. The highlight for me with the cream of chipilin soup. It was subtle but delicious. The fish with mojo de ajo was also excellent.

The setting is very pretty although a bit hot. The restaurant provided a fan upon request.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in Central Palenque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We came with a small group, and were treated very nicely. We sat on the patio, covered completely from the rain storm that came through while we ate. The food was very good - especially the fish!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant with typical food, very good service, the waiters really make you feel comfortable, the yuca appetizer was really good as the "tamales" however the spresso and specially the desert was very bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good music, food, & desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We saw Maya Canada earlier in the day but nothing on the menu jumped out at us. After checking reviews it seemed the it was our closest & best option. So glad we went! They had a guitarist/singer, hood ambiance, food, and service. The guayabana juice was a creamy drink that tasted like a cross between guava & banana. The french bread was fresh and the garlic butter was very flavorful. We got the queso fundido with chorizo and knowing that this would be filling we split a pollo palenque and a flan for desert. Everything was flavored well and used quality ingredients. Definitely returning on our next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, NM
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food, decent prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've eaten here several times. The last time the food was a bit too salty, but still delicious. At night they often have someone playing music which is very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Canada also viewed

 
Palenque, Chiapas
 

Been to Maya Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.