We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maya Tulipanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maya Tulipanes to your Saves list
Hotel Maya Tulipanes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canada St. 6 | Ecotourist Center La Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Palenque
El Centro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel staff was attentive and responsive to our needs. The outdoor restaurant was our favorite. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    142
    62
    12
    9
See reviews for
66
130
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Handy for the archeological sites and for local restaurants/supermarket. we had a nice large room, everything worked fine. Public areas are pleasant - not the best pool with limited space for sunbathing. Ate in restaurant one night which was convenient, but not memorable food. One niggle - housekeeping is very slow and on returning at 4:30 the room still required cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is very convenient for exploring the ruins. It is close to good restaurants yet it is in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean, comfortable bed, nice breakfast included, beautifully quiet a.c. and good television stations for this part of Mexico. We paid a fair walk-in price for the room, discounted from the listed rate. The pool was refreshingly cool. We will stay here again!

We stayed in another Palenque hotel a week previous, and the large pool was uncomfortably warm. We traveled to San Cristobal and had to stay in Palenque before and after the long winding trip up the mountain. The drive was definately worth it though! The most beautiful views! We wanted to stop and take photo's around every corner. Waterfalls of Misal Ha and Tonina Ruins are a great sidetrip.

Room Tip: We got the farthest room away- closet to parking lot. The location didn't matter to us. My husba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsewhere
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After reading a number of Tripadvisor Reviews and a favorable mention in a guidebook, we pre-paid a room through an Internet booking agency for four nights. In retrospect, I wish we had paid more attention to the less than favourable reviews on Tripadvisor.

My guess is that this hotel contains ‘nice’ and ‘not so nice’ rooms; the less desirable rooms seem to be given to the travelers who pre-paid while the more discerning travelers and groups received better rooms. Although I must admit that this is pure speculation on my part. Much to our disappointment, the room we were given was in the ‘not so nice’ category and bore no resemblance to the photographs featured on the web site. The common area however was quite nice, as was the quiet tree-lined La Canada location.

The second floor room was very small, with no daylight as the window looked out into a busy interior corridor. The furnishings consisted of a bed shoved against the wall beside the window; while guests conversing in the hallways were literally a foot from the bed, giving the impression that they were in the room with you. One bedside table, a sink and mirror, table with an old TV and one chair completed the décor. The room in all its glory was illuminated by a bare fluorescent light bulb dangling from the ceiling. The bathroom was located just steps from the bed and contained a toilet and a shower. At least the water was hot and the airconditioner, while loud, worked. No in-room safe or coffee making equipment is provided, although a curtesy bottle of water is.

Upon inquiring if another room was available, I was shown a larger ‘deluxe’ room in a semi-basement with a window that featured the view of concrete wall a short distance in front of it. It did however have a flat-screened TV, which doubtlessly accounted for the additional cost they requested. As this room came with the warning that loud construction work would start outside the room entrance very early in the morning, we kept the original room.

The next day, we returned to the hotel in the late afternoon, after a wonderful day spent at the magnificent Palenque site, only to find that housekeeping had forgotten about our room. When we politely requested that this be rectified, the staff acted rather put upon but eventually sent a maid to make the bed. As this was Valentine’s Day, I must admit that this was not the romantic stay I had visualized.

Despite having pre-paid for four nights, I quickly found a nice room at an adjacent hotel for the remaining three nights of our stay in Palenque.

To guarantee value, I would advise prospective guests of this hotel to view the rooms in advance before booking, so as not to be stuck with a dark interior room as we were, as they do seem to have some nicer rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel while we explored the ruins and Chiapas. The hotel was very nice, very roomy and was very reasonable. We paid $65 per night. The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the city square and has enclosed, gated parking. If you do come to Palenque to see the ruins, take an additional 4 hours and go see the Cascades Agua Azul up in the Chiapas Mountains. It takes about 1 ½ hour to drive there and is a little overrun by shops, but is a spectacular set of water falls, well worth the drive. The hotel has a pool and nice restaurant. The breakfast is full ‘American’ breakfast and was very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naucalpan, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

During our stay at this small hotel, I need to say that I was pleasently surprised. When I learned it was a 4 star in a small town like Palenque, I was very doubtful about the whole thing. However, the rooms are clean and cozy, with traditional mexican decorations; the bed is comfortable and the breakfast service is great (included in the hotel fee). The customer service is ok and the great thing is that is not very expensive, you pay fairly and get in return a comfortable experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maya Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Tulipanes

Address: Canada St. 6 | Ecotourist Center La Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Tulipanes 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-star, independent and 100% mexican hotel, committed to giving excellent service with unsurpassed attention to detail, focused on cultural and adventure tourism, as well as business and events. We offer very comfortable premises with Mayan accents and decorated with unique Mayan replicas.Our location is preferential, only 8 km away from the impressive and magic Palenque site. Other natural attractions are close by, making the Maya Tulipanes your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Maya Tulipanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Tulipanes Hotel
Maya Tulipanes Palenque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maya Tulipanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.