We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!! Wonderful Experience!!! Expert Quality Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carr. A Las Ruinas km. 2,2, Palenque 29960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Oh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best!!!! Wonderful Experience!!! Expert Quality Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi, This is an amazing spot. You will not be disappointed. The owner of this property has extensively studied Mayan culture and hieroglyphics. The property reflects this experience. We had some major problems with a rental car breaking down twice in the mountains and he easily helped us to resolve this. He was pretty much a vacation saver. You will be surrounded by amazing birds as well as hear the howler monkeys morning and evening. The food is very very good and the service is 5 star quality!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
94
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is an attraction in itself! They execute the basics perfectly, and then delights and surprises us with the intoxicating blend of Mayan form, function and purpose.

I'll cover the basics first and then I'll talk about what really knocked us out.

Rooms - the rooms are immaculate. Roomy, cosy, generously appointed, very comfortable and super clean.

Service - top notch! The staff are terrific, but the owner, Raphael, is something else (more on him later). My wife left her beloved Lululemon jacket. Raphael found it and posted it to us in Playa del Carmen. Wow!

Location - around 3ks from the ruins and a very short cab ride to town. Very good location.

Food - Raphael put a lot of thought on putting together an amazing menu. Make sure you try the Mayan dishes. They are very impressive. Moreover, the food is served on Mexican plates and bowls. These plates are literally pieces of art.

The above would have already earned this hotel 5 stars in my view. But it was really the hotel grounds and its owner that made our stay in Palenque really memorable.

As you walk through the reception/lobby/dining area, you might notice the beautiful architecture and the tasteful interior decoration. But you really need to have a chat to Raphael to fully appreciate the effort and significance of the design elements. The hotel grounds, the furniture and the interior design are a modern re-imagining of what the Mayans would have done had they continued to be the dominant culture, ie if the Spanish did not come and obliterate their culture. Allow Raphael to talk you through his vision and thought process in building the hotel, and you will also gain some insight on the inner workings of Mayan culture, of which Raphael's knowledge is encyclopedic. Everything from the shape of the chairs and tables, the use of stucco to paint the walls, and the tablets with Mayan hieroglyphics portraying the story of how the hotel was founded (Raphael reads and writes Mayan hieroglyphs) are all original. The design of the swimming pools are also based on the springs at the ruins.

This is why I travel - to gain amazing and unforgettable travel experiences. And that I found in abundance here at Chanabnal!.

Room Tip: Chat to Raphael about any special requirements or preferences you may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I found this astounding place in Tripadvisor when looking for a place to stay on a trip with the family.

My whole family was surprised and I was the hero of the day.

Rooms are HUGE and well kept, the pool is awesome very close to a small lake (but cold) and the service is just incredible.

They even have a small reproduction of a pyramid in there, so you can actually get to see how it was like the top part of the pyramid in the mayan culture.

It is not cheap since it is a boutique hotel and everything is exquisite, but it is worth what you pay for it.

It is not easy to get a room either since it only has 8, still worth trying.

By the way the owner is an expert in Mayan culture and usually hangs around in the hotel at nigths.

Ohh! Did I mention that it is located about two miles from the Archaelogical Zone of Palenque??

You can truly walk from there to the Site. Be careful, still is a demanding chore because of the weather and the incline, but it is a great walk!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Echoing the other reviews found herein this is one amazing hotel. The owner Rapheal a charming German/Italian is a great host with an unending knowledge of the Mayan Civilization..
Our room was what I'd call a junior suite with an oversized bathroom walkin shower and nice amenities including a locally handmade chocolate soap! One note it would be nice to have a towel change out during turndown.
The grounds are very nice with its own lake and flock of egrets! the pool area is beautiful with modern replicas of Maya buildings and a cascading waterfall over various pools reminescent of the nearby Aqua Azul natural cascades.
The food is gourmet level relying upon locally sourced produce. Do not be bashful of the Mayan preparations all are incredible.

We wil be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our panamericana trip and because it was soo wonderful we stayed even one night longer. The restaurant is expensive but absolutly worth the money, the pools are great, the location is close to the ruins and the rooms are very nice (just the beds are not made for tall people because they are so short!!!). And the owner, raphael can tell you so many interessting stories about the cultur and the history! Definitly would come back here!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon journey through Mexico. It was amazing. The accommodation was beautiful, the pool area was amazing and the food was spectacular. Rafael was one of the most accommodating and friendly host we have dealt with. He really made our stay as comfortable and easy as possible. Every penny spent was worth it.

It's really close to the ruins and you can simply waive down a collective for 10 pesos each. They come every 15 minutes and drive right by the hotel. We were fooled into getting a taxi and got ripped off, we paid 80 pesos to the ruins one way, we got the collectivo on the way back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Everything previous reviewers have said about the design and thought that has gone into this hotel is true and it is a real treat to stay here. The rooms feel quite luxurious, while also feeling relaxed and not too stuffy (as some luxury places can!) and they all have their own lovely outside area. The pool area is just beautiful and such a nice place to relax after walking around the ruins, and it's especially nice to have a massage at the end of the day and watch the bird life around the lake. For what you get at this hotel the rate is a bargain. I would agree with what some reviewers have said about the food, which although OK, wasn't up to the same high standard as the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Address: Carr. A Las Ruinas km. 2,2, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three kilometers from the archaeological site of Palenque, Chiapas, this luxury resort evokes a Mayan palace complex of the Classic Period. Traditional pre-Hispanic design, updated with modern sophistication, awaits the discerning traveler at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal.The architectural complex consists of two Junior Suites, four Deluxe Suites and one Presidential Suite. Amidst luxuriant jungle flora our swimming pools recall the typical waterfalls found in the ruins of Palenque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.