We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yaxkin Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yaxkin Hostel to your Saves list
Yaxkin Hostel
Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Alken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Yaxkin is located a 5 minutes walk from the bus station and the centre. It’s situated in a jungle atmosphere. The reception is beautiful. The owner looks very young, I’d say he’s in his mid-twenties, and is a very friendly and happy person. You can book tours at the hostel for fair prices. The first night we had a private room with shared bathroom. We slept beyond an eco-zone. At 3 a.m. there was this ceremony from hippies. They just played music and did some other hippie stuff so we couldn’t sleep. The owner was aware from this, so he could have said something to the other guests. The second day they said that there was also a misunderstanding with our booking. We booked a private room with shared bathroom, but the double-booked our room. They gave us another room, which was private with private bathroom, for the same price, which was a good solution. Some little disadvantages: there was not always hot water and breakfast is not included. Also you must pay 20 pesos to stock your luggage in a locker.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
4
41
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We came here to escape hippie paradise of Pachan. The hostel is located in a very quiet street far from everything. Our first impression was good, because it's a nice location and a beautiful hostel, but our room was less nice. It was extremely small and dark. The door was impossible to get our backpack through. Upstairs is a spacious, modern and beautiful bar/restaurant, although the prices are not really hostel-style: very expensive. Wifi and computers are available, a guest kitchen is not. It' s easy to get to the ruïns by shuttle bus in the main street, a 300m walk away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After freezing to death at our hostel in San Cristobal de las Casas, it was a welcome relief to check into the Yaxkin. Not far from the bus station and situated in a tropical jungle setting on a quiet street, the Yaxkin offers a welcome retreat from the busy town of Palenque.
The town is the typical hysterical bustling Mexican hub of activity. We arrived on Valentine's Day and the town was going wild, so, even if the "la vida loca" of a Mexican town if fun, it was good to be able to retreat to the lovely open-air bar at the Yaxkin for a Margarita. Only drawback was the dampness of the room, but hey this is the jungle. By the way, of all the Mayan ruins we saw, Palenque was our favourite. Beautiful grounds, waterfalls, good guides and top-notch museum.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hostel offers simple, but nice accommodation in dorms as well as double rooms in the leafy "La Cañada" area, 10 minutes walking distance from the (unattractive) town.
Bungalows are placed in the nice garden, together with outside seating and a tee-pee. Atmosphere is relaxed and spiritual.
In a dorm you'll find comfortable beds, lockers, bathroom and many fans (there was no air-conditioning in our room). Wi-fi is free of charge, computers with Internet access are available at the reception. Next to the reception you can also find a small kitchen, nice lobby and entrance to the restaurant and bar. Receptionist are kind and helpful.
I would recommend this hostel to anybody who doesn't bother sleeping during hot nights without A/C. If stay in Palenque, definitely in "La Cañada", the centre is dusty and ugly!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The first night we stayed in a double private room, which was tiny, just fitted the bed really (and no fan) but that was ok until in the middle of the night some type of creature (mouse maybe?) that was living in the roof started to run about for hours, in the end we had to get our things and tap on our friends door and sleep there instead. When my boyfriend explained this the following morning there was no apology, just a "so what do you want to do?" from the staff - so we moved into a dorm. The dorm was spacious, with its own bathroom and several fans. The rooms were clean, as were the bathrooms (showers were decent too) and there is WiFi, a kitchen and laundry service available.
The restaurant attached serves really good food which is pretty reasonable however for some reason they play really loud 90s drum and bass in the evening?

The hostel is well situated and not the worst, i'd stay in a dorm again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrieres, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Is this the same hostel we stayed in??? The rooms were not what we had reserved and the price was variable according to the time we spent discussing it. They proposed one room in a new building, still under construction, totally open, workers still in it with no lock and noise. In stead we got a double room with no A/C or bathroom - just a bed, not even a cupboard! The receptionist spoke neither French nor English and the kitchen had a mini fridge (for 4 people) and disgustingly dirty rags to get hold of a cooking pot. No breakfast but an expensive café and restaurant. Call that a hostel?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a great experience here. There was no early check in, so my husband and I spent some time getting to know Palenque. Once we did get in our room, we were very pleased with what we got. Everything was newly cleaned (mop streaks still wet on the floor) and suited our needs. Bed was comfortable, air conditioner was great and the tv was fine. The bathroom was clean and roomy. There is no free breakfast, but there is a kitchen available for guest use.

Palenque is a magical city, and Yaxkin Hostel has that hippie new age feel to it. Dreamcatchers are located about the property, and there is some sort of altar near the outside campfire area. Some message board notices invited guests to participate in various rituals and moon watching activities located in town and on the property.

Located in the tourist section of town, the Yaxkin is in a nice part of town with many other hotels dedicated to the tourist trade. Coffee shops, hotel restaurants and nightclubs are all available within walking distance, as is the town proper.

The Best Western hotel is twice the price and feels like a hotel. The Yaxkin feels like an experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yaxkin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaxkin Hostel

Address: Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Yaxkin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaxkin Hotel Palenque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaxkin Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.