We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palenque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palenque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palenque to your Saves list
Hotel Palenque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   AV. 5 de Mayo # 15, Palenque 29960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Palenque
Pitillal, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, MX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Palenque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Read a few of the other reviews and I couldn't disagree more. We spent 7 days at the hotel and I found the staff to be extremely helpful. The rooms were not fancy, but clean, air-conditioned, good wakeup service so we could catch our 6AM tours, view of the Town Plaza (Our room) cable TV and right on the town plaza and a block from 2 good, inexpensive restaurants. Was there for the last night of the Mexican Independence Day and the plaza entertainment was great. Maybe it was the time of year (Mid-September) and maybe I am easy to please, but at $550 pesos for 2 people, I was pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    9
    9
    12
See reviews for
11
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

To begin with, they hadn't registered our reservation when we arrived and we know of more people who've had the same problem here. The staff were unhelpful, specially because they don't seem to have any power of decision but only take orders from people above who never show. Very overpriced (M$900 for an room that is in urgent renovation need), noisy, windows were sealed so it gets very warm and air conditioned is so old and loud that you really don't wanna turn it on...
Theen they lied about having rained the day before to excuse that the pool was under maintenance and we couldn't use it, we couldn't enjoy our breakfast because we were not "on the list" etc. Seriously, don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived after 12 hrs of travel, during holy week,
Issues:
Reception clerk tried to charge $1,000 MXP per night per room, when outside the published rate was $950.00
Beds are hard and A/C are old hence noisy and leaking, expect the nerve wrecking dripping from the unit above, we were so tired we didn't bother
Staff gave impression of being too busy and being concerned in being bossy
Pros: Pool is acceptable, Restaurant is ok, breakfast is included: Coffee, Toast and fruit.
The hotel only had one night available, luckly we spend the rest of our stay at the Hotel La Croix, Better beds, newer A/C efficient and quiet, Cheaper rates, buffet breakfast for $80 MXP, better that the "Breakfast Included" at Palenque Hotel. Try Hotel La Croix first. Stay at Palenque only if all other options are not available

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Do NOT stay here. The rooms are aweful, we booked 12 bed dorm, and prisoners would of been shocked at the state.

We werent given a key to our room, were told to use bathrooms a level down in a half clean room.

Staff took our bags to look after, demanded a ticket on our return. We hadnt been given one, yet they still went n got our bags! Why the fuss then?

Do yourselves a favour n book a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights. But after 1 night we asked for our money back! The rooms are old, The airco makes a lot of noise and The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. You Pay to much for this old place! Please Find Some other hotel even for One night!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I reserved a room on this hotel's website and received a confirmation e-mail, which stated that they would be in contact with me to confirm the reservation. Never heard from them, so I called the hotel to confirm. They said they had no record of my reservation, even when I gave the confirmation number from the e-mail. They said that they had no availability for the nights I had reserved.

I found the hotel on another booking site, and it showed that they did have availability, so I booked it through that site, paid a $22 deposit, and received a confirmation e-mail. Later, when I called the hotel to confirm, they AGAIN said that they had no record of my new reservation, and that they had no availability for those nights. Now I was out a reservation AND $22 non-refundable deposit. On top of it, their website was out for a week, with a message saying their account was suspended for violations.

It all seems pretty shady. Stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you be need somewhere to feel at home between trips to the jungle or the ruins or are waiting for a bus, this is the place. It's a little more than a basic hotel (500 pesos- about £25) BUT it i totally worth it. The staff are extremely helpful and the pool is great. OK, the shower could do with updating and the food wasn't top-notch, but it's not a problem. Highly recommended if you are travelling alone. Room is large and the lights are actually bright enough to see by! (not usual in Mexico)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palenque

Address: AV. 5 de Mayo # 15, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we count on an excellent service of lodging that will totally please our guests; The main purpose of the hotel, is to offer to our guests one complete attention, excellent prices, tranquillity, comfort and all the amenities that we must available to do of its visit in Palenque, an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palenque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.