We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“un beso a Margarita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita & Ed's Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margarita & Ed's Cabanas
Save
You added Margarita & Ed's Cabanas to your Saves list
El Pachan, Palenque, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“un beso a Margarita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Mejora ducha de todo nuestro viaje a Mexico !!! Just great to be with Margarita in the Jungle of Palenque, right next to the Parque of Palenque, the door to the Ruinas. La dueña is living for her visitors and receives you very very warmharted !!! Furtrhermore you are in a sublime atmosphere of EL PACHAN, place for all generations, peacefully together.... GREAT !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    57
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
83
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Do you enjoy being snapped at while you are trying to find a room? Do you like lying awake until 2-4am because Bob Marley is blaring away on repeat? Then this place is perfect for you! We went to this place because of the great reviews here on Tripadvisor, but we had an awful time. It was the most expensive room we've had in Mexico (incl. a 50 MXN deposit for the key!), and the guy who was at reception/office was so incredibly rude to us we were on the verge of walking away, but it was late and getting dark, and we had no energy to find something else. Then at night, we found that the Don Mucho restaurant (or the other places just around the corner) were blaring music at top volume *all* *night* long. Including Bob Marley on repeat. It was hard to sleep even with ear plugs in. I would never ever go back here, and sincerely regret not having gone to places closer to the ruins (because they are still a 20 minute+ walk away?), far away from all the noise and rude people.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Basic cabañas in the jungle, very cheap. They have warm water, electricity, all you need.
We saw and heard a group of howler monkeys at the campsite, amazing!
Very close to the ruines, in the middle of the jungle. Book a jungle tour with Gabriel, you can book it in the Don Mucho's restaurant. Experience the jungle to the max!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed two nights over therein in a cabin
overall romantic lovely place,
restaurant and live shows down there,
weather could be rainy so prepare for it
It's not far from agua azul site,
overall good choice if you plan to visit Palenque site

Room Tip: check the room before you order ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in a room in the main building where the office is. The good parts - nice room, comfortable beds, good private bath. Location is the same as all the other places here at el panchan, so nothing special comparing to others.

Now for the bad part - prior to checking out I checked my money (that was well hidden inside an envelope, in a bag, in my small backpack) and found out that 1,000 pesos are missing.
I went uncomfortably to speak with margarita, who instead of at least feel sorry for me, or believing me, or actually suspect the cleaning lady (the only person who entered the room except me and my travel mate) - she started accusing me for not being responsible, accusing my mate in front of her that she might be the one who stole it, and kept lecturing me about self responsibility as she was my mom.

To add insult to injury, she didn't even offer us the last night for free as a compensate, and even claimed that we didn't pay the deposit (which we payed to her directly exactly 48 hours before).

There are so many nice places in el panchan, I really don't see a reason to support this rude lady's business. She might say she's doing it for more than 20 years, apparently she still has a lot to learn about customer service

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are lovely and really clean. The whole place is extremely charming. You can hear the sounds of the jungle all night and morning which is great, and the staff are friendly.

Definitely stay here if you're going to palenque - it's right next to the ruins and the town itself.

Do it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

El Panchan is the little "jungle village" outside of Palenque and just in front of the national park. There's various hostels catering to all budgets, but Margarita & Ed's definitely seemed the best. We looked at a cabaña and a room, and since the former felt a bit crammed, decided to get the latter, which at 300 pesos (for fan, not AC) was reasonably priced. The owner is a friendly and helpful elderly lady, the room was nice and had comfy beds, a good shower and proper mosquito nets, and the free jug of water per day is a nice touch. It's also further away from the noise of some of the bars in the center, which we found great too.

Except for the massive ant invasion in our room during the second night I can't really fault the place, and in all honesty I also don't quite know what they could have done about that, the ants were too small for the mosquito net's mesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita & Ed's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita & Ed's Cabanas

Address: El Pachan, Palenque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Also Known As:
Margarita And Ed`s Cabanas
Margarita & Ed`s Cabanas Hotel Palenque
Margarita Eds Cabanas Palenque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita & Ed's Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.