We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Am Thankful I Only Had to Spend Two Days in This Hell-Hole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olmeca Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Olmeca Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olmeca Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   418, Madero Ave. Dowtown | Historic Center, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Villahermosa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“I Am Thankful I Only Had to Spend Two Days in This Hell-Hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

1) I was over-charged by 50% of what I contracted to pay through booking.com - It has been almost a week and this violation of my booking agreement has yet to be credited bank into my bank account. At this point my bank in the US will have to turn it over to their fraud investigation department.
2) I was made to sit in the lobby and wait for two hours before they would issue me a room while tour buses rolled in and out and were given accommodations on the spot
3) The maid service paid no attention to personal privacy coming in on my while I was in the bathroom!
4) I realize I am a foreigner in Mexico, but if a hotel is going to advertise itself on an American booking site, then it should provide at least one check-in clerk who can communicate with you. English was something anyone in the hotel could ever seem to speak when it was convenient for them to do so
5) I twisted my ankle, badly, on a step and had to wait a half hour while permission was given to give me a bag of ice for the swelling - I stood in the lobby on one leg while they took their time going through some chain of command to give out ice
6) The area of Villahermosa this hotel is in is Horrible! I do not care what you read in the description, there in NO view of any river, just projects. I was told it was not safe to leave the hotel after 10PM by the staff - All night long I was kept awake by club music shaking my windows and promptly every morning it was replaced with the sounds of construction crews.

Room Tip: Run! Do not walk, but run from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
11
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto vallarta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to Villahermosa in order to avoid a round trip back to Tuxtla after seeing the ruins of Palenque, which is a two hour drive from Villahermosa.

The city is hideous. Olmeca Plaza is in the "historical" section, but that only dates back to the late 1950´s. Lobby of hotel and restaurant fine. The rooms are GRIM and pressed up practically next to other commercial buildings. Dreary dreary dreary and depressing. The shower was new and good. There was a terrible chemical odor early in the morning that woke me up about 4 AM. Awful. Windows were closed and only the fan was on, so couldn´t tell where the stench was coming from. Very polite staff.

Room Tip: There must be something better in this awful town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We "booked" this hotel in the airport, got free transfer to the hotel and 3 days later back (a normal price for taxi is around 200 pesos once way), service was very nice, they asked all our questions, tried to help us to organize trips to the sea, Yumka etc. First room we got was not very nice, so we asked to change it and got a very-very nice room with a very big and very clean bathroom. It was first time in hotel in Mexico when I didn't feel disgusting to take shower bare feet.
In the restaurant they serve an amazing pineapple juice. Want it more and more.. So tasty! Like nowhere else in Mexico.
Gym was very poor and kind of dirty (there were some other people sweat, but why didn't they used towels???), breakfast was not included, but you could find a buffet for 150 pesos that consisted from pure meat.. So if someone is vegetarian, just walk a bit and you will find a nice place to have a much cheaper breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

well , this is a ugly hotel
ugly rooms ugly area and ugly enviroment

the rooms and the whole hotel is outdated

is like a travel to the past , didnt feel safe in and outside the hotel

pros:

free wifi included, coffe maker and free coffe and bottle of water in room,NOTHING MORE

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Horrible, dirty, overpriced & rips you off for breakfast. The fitness center was foul, completely outdated and infested with mosquitos. Stay somewhere cheap near the bus station or the airport if you must go through Villahermosa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

i stayed in the hotel just because i had to attend a business meeting there, and they had a good offer at a very cheap price at the moment. bad location in downtown noisy and dirty area. rooms are outdated and old, and look very different from what they show in their website. cheap internet access. good attitude from hotel staff. television was not working.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Having booked this hotel because it had a crib we arrived late at night to be told that there was probably no crib. One materialised about an hour later. The room had no natural light, was not quite clean and was generally subpar for a relatively pricey hotel. Most of all, however, the staff were exceptionally rude and unfriendly, which is unusual in Mexico.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olmeca Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olmeca Plaza Hotel

Address: 418, Madero Ave. Dowtown | Historic Center, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olmeca Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olmeca Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olmeca Plaza Hotel Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olmeca Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.