We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed until mid-December” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Museo La Venta

Parque Museo La Venta
Bulevar Ruiz Cortines s/n, Villahermosa, Mexico
993 314 1652
Improve this listing
Type: Natural History Museums, Parks, Museums
Attraction details
White Pl
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Closed until mid-December”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Agree with previous post. We were on there on November 27, 2013 and the park is definitely closed for renovation.

As an alternative, we went to the Carlos Pellicer Museum. It was newly renovated and it did have one giant Olmec head in the lobby and a collection of interesting Olmec and Mayan artifacts on 2 floors.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    111
    43
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villahermosa, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not open still! Closed for renovations and no advertised info”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We came to Villahermosa just for this park/museum.
Today 2nd Dec we went there to find it was closed. Not sure where the person from the previous post went, but it's closed for 4 months until mid December. Don't go until then. You can only see one Olmec from outside the gates.
Really wish there was clearer info before we came here

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Crocodiles, Turtles and Anteaters!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A lovely park with lots to see....and plenty of visitors. There is safety in numbers. Flora and fauna of Tabasco are all there. Lots of shade to keep things a tad cooler. Street artists, water and popcorn, local treats and souvenirs.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecate, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It is closed until december 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We didn't get a chance to go because it is under rehab but even the taxi driver didn't know! Very poor info from the taxi drivers! They told us it was closed since march until december 2013 utill we arrived to the box office! :(

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a jungle park full of historic artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

a very lovey way to spend a morning or afternoon, the park also houses a small zoo of animals native to Tabasco, which is great in the jungle setting of the park. The Olmec stone pieces are fascinating.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Museo La Venta also viewed

 

Been to Parque Museo La Venta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Museo La Venta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.