We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your kids will love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Museo La Venta

Parque Museo La Venta
Bulevar Ruiz Cortines s/n, Villahermosa, Mexico
993 314 1652
Improve this listing
Type: Natural History Museums, Parks, Museums
Attraction details
Distrito Federal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Your kids will love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are visiting Villahermosa with your kids, this park is an excellent option because is a mix of zoo and museum. The zoo is a little careless and the excessive use of bars does little to appreciate the animals.
The museum is a walk outdoors in the shown copies of the most important archaeological Olmecs made​​. The incredible thing is that while doing the tour, you can see many coatis that move freely among the people.
The biggest problem is the parking. While it is free, is excessively small, so that if you arrive early, it will be difficult to find free place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    111
    43
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Museum of Mexico's Cultura Maternal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Going to or from Palenque? Stop here. La Venta has artifacts from the Olmec culture, one of the oldest cultures of all of Mexico. Huge stone heads of mesoamerican ballplayers appear to be be portraits of individuals. Check out the altars. Many symbolized the union between man and jaguars that produced the legends of werejaguars. This is a museum for serious students of Mesoamerica. A must see. A great way to spend a few hours in an open outdoor museum.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Nice Statues, Awful Zoo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Parque La Venta is worth a visit only if you are in Villahermosa and have time to kill. The zoo is awful with heavy fencing around most of the exhibits, many closed exhibits, and small pens for the animals. The basalt relics of the Olmecs are interesting, worth an hour or two The path to the outdoor statues exhibits is shady and the relics have good signage but for many you must have a good imagination to see what is in the stone. Cost was 40 pesos with free parking near museum. Only thing that disappointed me in 3 weeks in Yucatan.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
526 reviews 526 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent two nights in Villahermosa on our way through Mexico. We didn't really have plans for the day and heard about this park.

Since it was right across our Hotel, we chose to spend some hours at the park, but didn't expect much.
Well, we were pleasantly surprised. On the way to the park you'll pass a nice waterfront walk by a lake. There's some animals (kinda raccoons) roaming freely through that area and also through the park.

There's only a small entrance fee to the La Venta. There's a section with animals, actually a small zoo. They arranged it very nicely with some interesting animals. Then there's a path (almost jungle-like) which takes about an hour to walk. You'll pass lots of statues and archeological findings and learn some about the history of the Olmec. It's a nice walk, quiet and you even get some education.

Outside the park there's some vendors where you can get some souvenirs, clothes or food and drinks.
It's a nice place, a bunch of hours very well spent. So, if you're in town and have some time to spare, this is a great thing to do.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website with more info about my travels).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Was nice to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

it was an interesting place to walk through, but I would prefer to have there some excursions or more material to read/listen, to understand more about the place and cultural value.
There was a big cage with lots of huge parrots who were very friendly. :)
Also it was EXTREMELY HOT (in May), so we were dying during walking and found some place to rest in a souvenirs shop. There was an air conditioner.
We heard about night lightning shows, but the day we arrived it was closed for it..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Museo La Venta also viewed

 

Been to Parque Museo La Venta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Museo La Venta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.