We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geared for Business Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco to your Saves list
Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Periferico Carlos Pellicer Cam # 4000, Villahermosa 86035, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Villahermosa
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Geared for Business Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We only stayed for one night in Villahermosa travelling through. This hotel is geared for business trips and is actually really good. Rooms have large desks, really comfortable beds and large showers. Breakfast choices were good and for a dinner option Chili's is at the front of the hotel with 10% discount for guests. As a tourist you would need taxis to get about into the centre. We walked through the park to get to the shopping plaza. Reception staff were friendly and spoke some English. Had a great sleep so we were happy!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your comments, we really felt very flattered to know that we meet their expectations, he likes the service received by our staff, also pleases us that the beds were to his liking and enjoyed the discount offered by 5 restaurants concession with whom we have food service for our guests.
It is especially gratifying to know that fulfill the brand promise of "big hotels that Guests Amen"
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for this home
cordially Yours
Joel Sánchez
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
9
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for eight days while on business in Villahermosa and really enjoyed my stay here. This is actually the second time I have stayed here. I was here for two weeks back in March. Both times the staff was friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speak pretty good English so for those who speak mediocre Spanish like me will not have any problems communicating with the staff. The hotel has a daily breakfast buffet and there is an exercise room. The exercise room is very small so it was first come first serve. For the first three nights I was able to get in there after 11pm. You can easily walk around the entire block which is probably on mile or you can walk over to the park and walk around that park several times. Don't worrying seems pretty safe in the area.

I

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, I'm glad to know that we meet the expectations of our guests and especially to comply with the brand promise of "Great Hotels Guest Love"
That You will mention, the area is very safe and you can go to the park to walk, which is one block from the hotel and can exercise without any problems
We look forward to welcome you again for this home

Sincerely
Joel Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

It needs to be said that the whole hotel, starting from the lobby, has a very sterile feel. It is like walking into a hospital ward. Cold, unwelcoming, impersonal. The one thing, in my opinion, it has to recommend for itself is the swimming pool which is small but very welcome in the searing hot and humid weather of Villahermosa. That said, be prepared to be eaten alive by mosquitoes. The breakfast and wi-fi is adequate. On the downside, the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere at the back of a huge parking lot and next to a construction site. Most unappealing. Everything is a taxi ride away. The room was adequate but nothing special. The hotel is obsessed with non-smoking: not only is there a No Smoking sign posted up every 5 metres, but you also have to sign a legal document in which you acknowledge their policy. It was just too much. The hotel staff are as cold and indifferent as the hotel itself. There were no smiles, there were no maps, there was nothing beyond the call of duty. We received wrong directions to the nearest mall and no notice was taken when I complained that the taxi they ordered for me had overcharged me. Overall, not recommended unless absolutely necessary. I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
this email is to inform you that we have received your comments on our hotel, and really regret that in your recent visit we could not having met your expectations,
we will take your comments to improve and try to give our guests a warm welcome and make them feel appreciated.

cordially
Mr. Joel Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been in lots of Holiday Inns in USA... I thought being in Mexico, It wouldn't be as nice as the ones in USA; boy.. I was wrong. Beds and pillows were incredible and this is not your ordinary continental or american breakfast. Muy friendly people too. About 15 minutes away from the airport but it was so worth it. Gracias!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest: this is in order to especially thank your comments about our property, it is always important for us to give our guests the same quality offered at all IHG Hotels of the World, we are committed to delivering on the promise brand "Great Hotels Guests Love" and I am happy to know that this was for you.
We look forward to welcome you again and serve you as a special guest

cordially
Mr. Joel Sanchez
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed overnight with family and have been there a few nights. other years. I have to say that my family and I always feel at home and comfortable. I sometimes get upgraded so that is a treat. Anyway upgrade or not we enjoy ourstay.

Room Tip: IF you can splurge for the execituve floor go for it you will always have snacks available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest: This is in order to thank him for his preference to stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback Was your family happy at our hotel, it commits us to strive us every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and fulfill the brand promise of "Great Hotels that Guests Love."
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again, I remain at your service
cordially
Mr. Joel Hernandez Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

PLUSES

 A new hotel with stylish public spaces.
 My room was very modern, white and spacious. A large desk, king bed and a chaise longue. Excellent design.
 The bathroom was large and smart.
 Usual Holiday Inn features: flat screen TV, safe in the room, coffee marker, iron, etc.
 Breakfast had an unusually large amount of choice especially of hot items – of which there were many as well as prepared fresh fruit, juices and cereals. There were also cold meats.
 Plenty of parking around the hotel.
 The internet was fast.

NEGATIVES

 Very little near the hotel: you need to drive or get a taxi to most places. It would be possible to walk to the main tourist spot in Villahermosa: through a park and under a shopping center in about 30 minutes. A taxi from the bus station to the hotel was quick and cost MEX$40.
 The sound insulation was very poor. I could hear a young child on one side, people talking in the corridor and the TV from the other side. When my TV loving neighbour turned a light off it was so clear / loud I thought it was in my room.

CONCLUSION

Hard to decide about this hotel. I liked it but for the high level of noise transmission. None of the noise went on for too long but if the noise had been persistent it would have been tough. I did like the style, space and modern feel to the hotel. It felt luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Mr Joe:
thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate your point of view and work on the points we mentioned, unfortunately in regard to noise, can not do anything because it's built.
hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in this home
cordially
Mr. Joel Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Reserved by phone while on the highway, I called the hotel directly and they transfered me to a call center where they gave me a quote which I accepted, and i made the mistake of trusting what they have told me being that I was unable to check my email while on the highway. When I arrived to the hotel the price was more than double what we had agreed on, when I mentioned this the staff was very un supportive, there was even a staff member (Jorge from the front desk) laughing while I was talking to the supervisor. They argued that the call center closes at 8 pm and they probably made a mistake but that as it was closed and I had no way of proving them wrong they could do nothing at all, this seems like a perfect way of not appreciating the client. They even were charging me more that what the internet rate was while I had called them and they did nothing to help. Unfortunately I have been a very loyal member of the priority club but this experience would most certainly affect my judgment selecting their hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure the double check your reservation, they tend to make mistakes and call the client a liar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXV, General Manager at Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Ing. Gutierrez
Hemos recibido su comentario por este medio y por parte de nuestro corporativo, como le comentamos en la carta enviada por la central de reservaciones corporativa, fue un grave error el que cometimos con la confirmación verbal con su persona donde nuestro agente le dio una tarifa diferente a la que se tiene de promoción, y lamentamos mucho el causarle el inconveniente que nos comenta.
Le hemos enviado una carta y un certificado para resarcir el malestar ocasionado, diatérmano le pedimos nos disculpe y nos dé la oportunidad de poder atenderlo en cualquiera de nuestras propiedades, lamentablemente fue algo que ocurrió como error humano y que no fue manejado correctamente.

Esperando tener el gusto de saludarlo y de recibirlo en esta su casa, quedo a sus órdenes

Cordialmente
Lic. Joel Sanchez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco

Address: Periferico Carlos Pellicer Cam # 4000, Villahermosa 86035, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rates are inclusive of: Express Breakfast Buffet; Unlimited local calls, High Speed Internet Access; Priority Club Rewards points; In room Roasted Coffee. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Villahermosa is located in the heart of the new hotel district of Villahermosa, the capital city of Tabasco in southeast Mexico. Only 12 minutes from down town, 5 minutes from PEMEX and Headquartes and Schlumberger, Hallibourton among other important companies. BR>Holiday Inn Express Hotel Villahermosa offers 88 hotel rooms and suites, each with individually controlled air conditioning, satellite television, voicemail, High speed Internet Access, a telephone with 2 lines and Data port, Fitness and business center. Additionally one executive floor that features a private lounge where a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast bar and special amenities are available.Holiday Inn Express Hotel Villahermosa's facilities include a hotel swimming pool, parking on premise and a special events hall with a capacity for up to 200 persons. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Villahermosa represents a style of service and hospitality that is traditional to the State of Tabasco. New anti-smoking Law In the state of Tabasco, in effect from 08 August 2008 and on, prohibits smoking in any area inside the hotel. Smoking area permitted on the terrace at the side of our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco Hotel Villahermosa
Holiday Inn Villahermosa
Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Express Villahermosa Tabasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.