We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Hotel Near Plaza de Armas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Independencia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Plaza Independencia Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Independencia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Independencia 123, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Villahermosa
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Nice Budget Hotel Near Plaza de Armas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Hotel Plaza Independencia is located on a small street behind the La Conchita church off the Plaza de Armas near the city center. Free parking in a locked courtyard behind the hotel. Nice clean room with a balcony overlooking town. Room had air conditioning, a small TV, minibar, free w-fi but slow, nice desk and chair, plenty of electrical plugs, towels, shampoo, soap. No washcloth. Hot water took a while to come on. No free water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Dont be surprise if internet doesnt work and mattresses super hard ( 20 years old furniture in the room). Pros: hotel is cheap and have secure parking lot few blocks away. Guests was smoking on the 3th floor where was sign dont smoke. Hotel`s Restaurant cheap and food ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stay at the plaza independencia in Villahermosa , Tabasco. Is well located, but only if you go in car. For a bus it will be very difficult to park. It is 2 blocks far to the Palace of the governor, and is close to docks.

Eventhough is not a new hotel, the rooms are clean and the service, in general is good. People is very kind. The only negative aspect was the elevator. Is old and slooow

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Was not planning to stay at this location, but I happen to stumble upon it. It was in a great location right in the heart of the city. At one time it must have been one of the best hotels there. Now it is a little run down but the price is right and the staff was great-free breakfast included. We made friends with the hotel taxi driver who gave us lots of good information on were to eat and what was available. City traffic is horrendous-I suggest taxi service very inexpensive and lots available. Town was very safe at all hours.Rooms were clean and cozy-nothing fancy. Great location if you need to visit and don't want to pay the 4-5 star hotel price-use the addittional $ for siteseeing and food. Bring good shoes and lite clothing-very humid.

Room Tip: Tell front staff what you prefer-very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Room 302 has little insects all over the bed and between the sheets. We were too tired to complain and just fell asleep. No bites but it was off putting. Typical dated Mexican 3 star hotel with secure parking a block away. Very dated /tired decor but clean enough other than the infestation. Good shower, king size bed (room for more insects !) and moderately helpful staff. Room 302 is also next to the church bell which rings early. No problem for us as we were travelling early but could have been an issue otherwise

Room Tip: avoid insects and church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Now that we've travelled around, we know that Mexican hotels aren't really the most charming of places. This one is not different. It is an OK 3-star hotel, with parking, very close to the city centre which is not the most beautiful but certainly has a vibrant feeling to it that helps kill an hour or two. We liked walking around there and looking at the Mexicans enjoying themselves at the end of the day. Back to the hotel, the elevator has a really strange smell so we just took the stairs to avoid it. The room indeed had no window, so that upset me a bit, but in the end, we had a good night sleep. The real surprise was the very good breakfast buffet, best we encountered sofar!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel was a real oasis for us. This is one busy and bustling city. The staff, except the front desk, were very accommodating. We hit it off with the restuarant staff and had great food and great service. We tipped generously and were rewarded with top notch service. Good food and a very quiet bar. The pool was closed during our stay and that is a good thing because it needed a good cleaning.

I love Villahermosa. It is not for everybody, but you can have everything in this grimy state capital. And I don't use grimy as a derogatory term. There is a definite charm to the place. I really like the open streets in the evening; lots of merchants, music, food and fun. It is walker friendly. Watch out for the traffic though, and the open holes in the roads and sidewalks. It ain't Vegas . . . it's better than that. The city has something for the upscale and the budget traveller. We were kind of in the middle so we enjoyed the Plaza Independencia because for the three of us 850 pesos was affordable. I go back in a heartbeat. We used Villehermosa as our base before we headed of to Chiapas

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Independencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Independencia Hotel

Address: Independencia 123, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Independencia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Plaza Independencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Independencia Hotel Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Independencia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.