We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viva Villahermosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Viva Villahermosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viva Villahermosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ruiz Cortines y Paseo Tabasco | Col. Linda Vista, Villahermosa 86050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Villahermosa
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We booked our room online for $70. and asked for a room facing the courtyard and pool. We arrived early (9am) and seems like the front desk staff are not to familiar with online bookings but after a few minutes they figured it out. Anyway they said they would have any courtyard/pool view rooms available until the next day. We are not fussy and were okay with that. The bellboy took our bags to our room on the third floor and gave us a tv remote. The elevator was small but clean. The room was facing the parking lot and main street. After a few hours we went to the front desk and asked not to be changed to the pool view rooms. The rooms facing the parking lot and main street are more interesting. You can sit on you private balcony with a cold beer and watch the busy city going by. Poolside rooms seemed boring by comparison. How long can you look at a pool and courtyard before it becomes boring. The pool was huge and nice. You will have to give a deposit for the pool towels and the deposit is large to make sure you do not steal the towels. We also had to give a deposit for the mini fridge. Then we took out their overpriced beer and sodas and loaded up the fridge with ours. We got our deposit back on checking out. There is a supermarket not far away where you can get stock for the fridge. We ate in the restaurant once only. There are so many great restaurants in Villahermosa you will want to try them all. The Hotel Viva also has a great nightclub with live and DJ music open until 2 am. The Hotel Viva Villahermosa was great, staff great, pool great, city great, we would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    17
    8
    14
See reviews for
11
17
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veracruz, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I went to Villahermosa for a couple of days, we lived in the city before our visit, so we decided to give this hotel a chance since a lot of people of our company stayed there and said it was pretty comfortable. The true is that is very expensive for what really is. Is a big hotel with a obvious lack of maintenance!! We got a very small room (standard) with bed clothes pretty old and stained. The remote control didn't work pretty good as well. The breakfast buffet is poor and the only good food are the "chipilin tamales", juices and eggs, the services is not great either. The ironic part Is that is considered as a 4 stars and it costs that much!! For the same amount you can stay at the Hyatt Hotel right across the street or Camino Real at 4 blocks from here and both are way better!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I am amazed at the three glowing reviews of this hotel and its high ranking on tripadvisor, and do wonder if they refer to the hotel I stayed at of the same name, because I find it hard to give it any praise at all.
Upon arrival and check in we were about to be shown to a room overlooking the pool, until the manager decided to interfere. Instead, we were shown to a very basic room overlooking the car park, with curtains that did not close properly so people could look in. The room itself was very small, and because of the layout of the hotel there is no air conditioning outside of the room, making it uncomfortably warm to walk around.
Additionally, the lift did not work, meaning we had to carry our heavy luggage up and down a flight of stairs.
Throughout our stay I felt quite prejudiced against by the staff, not least for being given a shoddier room by the manager for no apparent reason. Another example being when our guide arrived to take us on a tour and they told him that no on with our name was staying with them - we almost missed him as a result.
In fact, we never found the receptionists to be helpful. We wanted to use the fridge in our room to store water bottles, but found it was locked. The receptionist told us we could have it opened for a very large deposit, which we were not prepared to pay.
I did like the swimming pool, the hotel's only good point, but the staff was also very funny about lending us towels. We were not allowed to use the room towels (even though all the Mexican holidaymakers were allowed to) and charged us a ridiculous deposit - about ten times the values of one of the dirty towels we received - to use them.
The food at dinnertime was average at best, and the variety on the menu was very limited.
When we went out at night to see what the town had to offer we found almost nothing in the vacinity, which was a shame.
Overall, I was very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

What it begin as a work trip, slowly became in one of pleasure. After traveling the city of VillaHermosa on foot, and discover that its a nice city surrounded by lakes and rivers; I begin my search for one nice and cheap Hotel to stay by night.

The hotels in VillaHermosa are not particulary cheap, and after a small search I keep the one that offered a better price.

The Calinda Viva, VillaHermosa is ideal for the business travelers, their rooms are good and they resemble each other of those of any Holiday Inn. The hotel is quite big and his location is comfortable, because is near downtown and the business area called " Tabasco 2000" Almost beside the archeological park " Carlos Pellicer " and the beatiful lagoon of the illusons.

After spending one night of rest, the following day I was greatly surprised with the free breakfast that was included in the price of the room. A lot of food of the region, simply delicious, one of the best breakfasts that I have eaten.

The attention of the staff was good and at the end of my stay, the price look fair for the quality that they offer.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing particular
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Wonderful staff, nice pool, walk to La Venta park. They have an excellent, but I do mean excellent driver/guide named Manuel. Especially if you are a woman traveling alone, you will feel so protected. His rates are fair and you can trust him completely. Please, if you use him, tell him the three American Spanish teachers recommended him (Juanita, Cristina y Rosita)! Also, the food was wonderful and fairly priced. This is a great place to stay if you plan to travel down to Palenque.

  • Liked — Restaurant right on premises open all the time
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Viva Villahermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viva Villahermosa

Address: Av. Ruiz Cortines y Paseo Tabasco | Col. Linda Vista, Villahermosa 86050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Viva Villahermosa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Viva Villahermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viva Villahermosa Tabasco, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viva Villahermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.