We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Suites Real del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Suites Real del Lago to your Saves list
Hotel & Suites Real del Lago
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Sindicato de Salubridad 209 | Col. Lopez Mateos, Villahermosa 86100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Villahermosa B&B and Inns
San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family of 6 and they were so good to us. We did not have a reservation and they gave us an amazing deal off of the regular going rate. The pool up on the 5th floor makes for a beautiful view of the city. When we go back we will stay here again...
It is not easily accessible to restaurants or shopping, but we had our own vehicle and that was not a problem. When we needed an extra bed for my son... they did not charge... even though they were supposed to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After looking at places on the main highway we decided to go back to the Real del Lago. It is one block off the main street through Villahermosa and about a block and a half from Wal-Mart (for what that might be worth). There is NO place around it to eat other than the hotel restaurant and it is over priced and very limited in selection. Good price, clean room, wifi that worked and a guard on the parking lot. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed four nights (from 17 to 20 March 2013) at this hotel with my 2 year-old son and my husband, who had a congress in Villahermosa. We chose this place based on the good reviews (?) of this site and because, for the same price than a regular room in other nearby hotels, we could get a junior suite with kitchenette (which usually allows us to be a little independent from the hotel's restaurant and prepare a snack or warm milk for our toddler).

At our arrival, they did not respect our reservation for a junior suite and tried to put us in a regular room that was partly inundated. After reminding them that we had reserved a junior suite, they put us in one that turned out to have the only advantage of being wider than a regular room and having a small fridge whose door won't close, but no microwave at all. This means that in the end, we depended totally on the hotel's restaurant, which offered average food (compared to Mexican standards) and a room service that was really too slow (due to an obvious lack of personnel).

The outside pool on the hotel’s roof was overall really neglected and had so few chairs that we had to install ourselves on the cement ground. Worse still, there was an afternoon where we arrived at the pool with our toddler, and a gang of guys from northern Mexico had completely taken control of the pool area, shouting, playing very loud music and drinking their own beer. They made the two families that were trying to relax in the pool very uncomfortable. The hotel doorman came, noticed those clients’ unacceptable behaviour and... did absolutely nothing to defend the families. Of course we rapidly left.

The Real del Lago turned out to be an unfriendly place, even for my family who has been living in Mexico for over 4 years, speaks excellent Spanish and usually gets along well with Mexicans. From the very arrival I did not feel welcomed nor at home at the Real del Lago. Any simple and legitimate request I could have, like having a taxi called or a sheet printed, was attended with a relunctant attitude.

It is worth mentioning that there are no services (restaurants, supermarkets) at a walking distance from this hotel, which I found very unpractical.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived to Villahermosa on May 26th with no reservations in the middle of a national fair and some conventions so we were recommended by a taxi driver to this hotel. It is located near a zone called Tabasco 2000, the price per night (60dls) is very affordable compared with the expensive 3*fiesta inn night for $150dls individual beds... The hotel is a little hidden because it´s inside a neighborhood in front of some companies, but it is located 5 minute ride to the famous park La Venta. The weather in general is humid and hot, so having an A/C becomes important. The rooms are clean and nice. There is this pool on the 6th floor with a nice view of the city.

Room Tip: upper rooms, better city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Suites Real del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Real del Lago

Address: Sindicato de Salubridad 209 | Col. Lopez Mateos, Villahermosa 86100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel & Suites Real del Lago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Suites Real del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Suites Real Del Lago Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suites Real del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.