We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teacake at Shepreth

Teacake at Shepreth
8 Meldreth Road, Shepreth SG8 6PS, England
+44 7565 567023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Shepreth
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Teacake at Shepreth is an attractive 1660 thatched cottage Tea room / Shop with a garden. Situated 5 minutes walk from Shepreth rail station (on the London to Cambridge line.)7 Miles south of Cambridge just opposite the war Memorial next to Docwra's Manor open Gardens.Delicious home made cakes sandwiches and light lunches eat in or take away.Specialist teas and Real Coffee In the warmer weather there is a small sunny sheltered tea garden to while away summer afternoons Open Wednesday to Saturday 10.00Am - 4.30Pm Sunday 10.30Am - 4.30Pm Booking a table is advised CLOSED MONDAY AND TUESDAY and Christmas 21 Dec 2014 to 4 Feb 2015
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mother's Day treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My sister and I took our mother to this lovely tea room . We felt very welcome and it was a lovely treat to share it with our lovely mum. Delicious cakes and lovely cup of tea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice P, Owner at Teacake at Shepreth, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
What a great idea, delighted your Mother and family enjoyed your visit to Teacake.
Look forward to see you on another occasion and thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just as a tea shop should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fresh food, prepared that day or on the spot, served with friendly, chatty courtesy and attention to detail and great charm in spotless rooms within a beautiful English thatched cottage tearoom... bliss!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice P, Owner at Teacake at Shepreth, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Teacake in a teacup or should that be a nutshell! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thank you Chris and Maurice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We are regular visitors to Teacake and really pleased it is continuing to provide excellent salads, interesting and tasty soups, sandwiches, cakes, coffee and tea. Even when under pressure, Chris and Maurice smile. We always have fresh flowers on the table too!
Lynn and John

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice P, Owner at Teacake at Shepreth, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Lynn and John for such an encouraging review
Little worried about the under pressure comment –hope it does not show!
Yes, we are a very small team and we hate to keep people waiting, but do our best.
Also good to read the details such as the flowers on the table are appreciated – as well as the food.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great find in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We happened on this little gem during a Sunday drive. The building is lovely and the service couldn't be friendlier. We ate in the garden which was sweet and well kept. I had a summer tea on the recommendation of the owner and it was so good we bought some to take home. I had an excellent scone and my husband had a coffee and a Victoria sponge. We will definitely return soon there are several open gardens in the area so it's worth an afternoon out.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice P, Owner at Teacake at Shepreth, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your review that kindly conveys so much about Teacake in just a few words, an instant picture for fellow reviewers.
Delighted you enjoyed the Summer Tea, I often encourage customers to try one of our range of loose leaf teas - makes a change from the regular teas we drink at home!
Hope you return soon to perhaps try Bouquet Royale Fruit Tisane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit of many!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Met up with my wife and daughter here today whilst I was in the middle of a long bike ride.
We were made to feel very welcome and the food and setting were lovely. Already planning the next ride in this direction and will definitely be including Teacake in the route.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice P, Owner at Teacake at Shepreth, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It is always good to read a review from a new cyclist, amazed how many of you seem to find us and how you kindly spread the word about Teacake.
Thanks for the great review hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teacake at Shepreth also viewed

Shepreth, Cambridgeshire
Shepreth, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Teacake at Shepreth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teacake at Shepreth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.