We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhouse Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhouse Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Parkhouse Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bepton, Midhurst GU29 0JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bepton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What an amazing hidden gem. You feel like you are staying at a friends house. Attention to detail is amazing. The pool and spa was brilliant and not what you would expect for a small country house hotel. Perfect for romatic getaways. Don't tell too many people!!
Food was great as well, would love to see this place in the summer as it has an outdoor pool and lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Room No 11 was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    35
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
138
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

(When I work out how to post photo I'll post the photos I took at this hotel of the room)

Plus points: Pleasant small hotel with lovely grounds and good leisure facilties, outdoor pool, good-sized indoor pool, Spa (friendly staff) and (single sex) steam/saunas in changing rooms. Lovely main sitting room in hotel with open fire. Good standard of food at Dinner.

Minus points: odd honesty bar area with no really comfortable place to sit and chat as there was lots of window seating and a large 'banquette' in centre but with no backs to the seating, it was hardly a place you could kick your heels back & relax. Best to grab a drink & enjoy in the very comfortable sitting room. Very expensive bar prices.

Dining area a bit confused with a narrow formal dining room opening onto a more modern, chintzy conservatory. Breakfast not so good - sausages very 'bready' and bacon salty. But good size portions and reasonable choice.

Waiting staff - not only did one particular member of staff hover too much but he draped his arms over our chairs while lingering to chat (not required) & was over familiar and bordering on offensive when he brought our puddings and stated 'You're a tart' & ' You're a mess' referring to our pudding choices. Perhaps he thought he was being funny...it's always difficult to challenge behaviour like this as others might not take offence but we certainly did. The other waiting staff were professional yet friendly without being over familiar so this was an obvious training issue with this particular member of staff.

Room cleanliness: when first shown to our room (Polo Cottage) there was a collection of empty glasses outaide the door and several cigarette butts. The sitting room in the cottage was showing signs of wear and tear and felt shabby it was very gloomy. There was a service area outside the back door with lots of coming & going of staff which was disturbing. The bathrooms needed some TLC and mouldy grout renewing. The scales didn't work in one bathroom. The curtains in one bedroom had come unattached from the curtain rings (easily fixed but attention to detail lacking) and the carpets were frayed in one and in the other the bed needed a serious deep clean (see photos)

Reception telephoned our room on our day of departure very shortly after 11am (check out time) to hurry us along to check out! We were on our way, just packing the car.

No-one asked us on checking out if we had enjoyed our stay, frostily professional and poite but no real warmth or friendliness. Awkward checking out as no desk area to check bill and sign, you just hover awkwardly in their office space. i brought up the mould, broken scales etc and was just told their maintenance would look at it - no apology offered.

Would we stay again? In the balance and in one word:No. Too many minus points for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Yes your quite right, a picture does speak a thousand words.
We are terribly sorry that your experience was a negative one. We certainly let ourselves down here and we will be addressing all the points you have raised with our housekeeping and dining staff.
We would very much like the opportunity to start over, its a very big blow to all of us to know that your stay was less than perfect. Please do contact us directly we would very much like to arrange a complimentary stay for you.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Very best wishes
Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night and how I wished we had booked for more. From the moment we walked in I knew that this was one of those special small luxury hotels that you feel like "home" - if only I had a home like that! The spa was really relaxing, very modern, clean, great lighting and very luxurious.

Our room was very spacious, lovely bathroom, but a little too hot.

Great idea to have an Honesty Bar.

We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was delicious - great choices and really well cooked.

Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We strive to give all our guests a home away from home experience, so its always encouraging to receive feedback that reflects this.
We look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Kind regards

Rebecca Coonan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

this is my 3rd stay at Park House..1st time was January 2010 for a friends wedding, we loved it so much, my husband & I went back for 1 night January 2011 for my birthday..Then the friend who got married, arranged 7 of us girls to go for 1 night stay...I love it there..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Another visit, thats great news, we are looking at a new loyalty scheme in the New Year, keep an eye on our website for details.
Thank you for your continued custom and support.

Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for one night and were impressed by this hotel, the standards in all areas were good. The spa treatments were wonderful. Midhurst is a pleasant town with individual shops. The gardens are beautifully kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your stay. We are delighted you had a comfortable an pleasant break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Rebecca Coonan & all the team at Park House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After looking for a very last minute spa package for three friends (the day before our proposed visit) I came across Park House on the internet. I am sooo glad I did. From the very first contact with Siobhan on the phone I was totally impressed with the professialism and friendly approach. Siobhan went out of her way to squeeze the three of us into an afternnoon Spa session the following day and by the time we pulled up the following afternoon we were greeted with personalised itineraries for our session. Scarlett, who greeted us and showed us round was also a total pleasure to deal with and the spa itself was absolutely immaculate. The setting of the hotel is beautiful, down a country lane surrounded by fields. The spa has been really well thought out with so much attention paid to details, right down to plugged in straighteners ready to go in the dressing room !! The gym contained modern equipment with air con. The pool was spotless and we practically had it to ourselves. We all had a massage as our included treatment and again were all really impressed with the service and the peaceful atmosphere of the treatment rooms. However, the high point for all of us was our champagne afternoon tea, served in sunshine by the outdoor pool ! It was AMAZING !! Lots of sandwich choices and no less than six different types of cake to choose from with cream and jam, again served by a very friendly member of hotel staff. We were looking for a relaxing afternoon where three friends could chill out and catch up and Park House Spa exceeded our expectations. I will be definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased your Spa experience was enjoyed by your party. Its great to have the opportunity to give this personal feedback to Siobhan and Scarlett. Of course we will make sure our Kitchen team get your glowing report too.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed one night at Park House and we will be back for a longer stay.
Everything about this hotel is simply superb.
The bedrooms and public rooms together with the grounds are immaculate and the facilities are stunning for such a small hotel . There are two excellent swimming pools , a really good Spa area, and outside they have two grass tennis courts, a bowling green and even a 6 hole golf course (which is both fun and challenging).
The service is very friendly , yet professional , and the whole hotel has a refined and comfortable atmosphere. We have stayed in expensive hotels all over the world and were wowed by Park House.
Anyone visiting the South Downs should check it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of the hotel and its facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhouse Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhouse Hotel & Spa

Address: Bepton, Midhurst GU29 0JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst > Bepton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bepton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhouse Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Parkhouse Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Hotel Bepton
Park Hotel Midhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhouse Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.