We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsman Inn

Sportsman Inn
off A66, Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0SG, England
+44 (0)17684 83231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Situated just outside of Penruddock.Very good menu. nice and cosy. Lovely big fire which made it a nice warm pub. Seems to be popular with local people.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian L, Owner at Sportsman Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Fasher,

Re your review of the Sportsman's. I think you may have the wrong place??

We don't do quizzes or have regular live bands??

We don't have a hotel just over the road? The nearest decent hotel is either Penrith or Keswick which are both about 10 miles away, we do have a few B&B's around though, the nearest being about 1/2 mile away?

We have spent about £75,000 over the last 18 months on refurb..

With regard to your reference to 'Not much Sport' The Sportsman's name goes back to the late 1800's, if you where actually here you would see that the memoriablia in the pub reflects that period; framed photo's of Cumberland wrestling and horseracing, wooden fishing rods and blunderbuses etc. and not premier league football. We are a country pub and don't have a huge local trade for things like sky sports. Although, as we have a 52" in the bar we always show the Rugby World Cup and the RBS 6 Nations, and provide 'free chips and dips' for the viewers, and this does have a regular following

So 'Sorry' but not sure which pub you were in?

Krs

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Food remains fine but, my God, the service is unbelievable. Untrained, sullen teenagers practically toss the food at you. Why don't managers pay more attention ?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate here just before Christmas at around 3pm on a Saturday afternoon, this was a really cold day and the restaurant and bar area seemed warm enough to me. We had two courses a starter and a main each and four drinks, three of which were alcoholic, which in total was just over £40.00 which is very much in line with prices everywhere in the area considering my partner had a steak and I had the biggest lamb shoulder I have ever seen. Beautifully cooked and service was quick and friendly I genuinely can't knock the place, I used to eat here quite regularly prior to leaving the area and it has always been fantastic, really good value and a great atmosphere, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for pub grub in the area, I was also pleased to see food served all day at weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Epic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great food at a reasonable price in a lovely pub. Really welcoming, friendly staff. Will most definately be going back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we ate here for luch passing by. when you enter it smelt like urine but then realized the toilets are right nexgt to the front door. but anyway the food was really nice and it was not to overly priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sportsman Inn also viewed

Caldbeck, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.