We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent family run B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just had three glorious days staying here mid-July 2013 - one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Steph and Dean are very accommodating - we are veggies and they fed us very well with really good veggie meals. Very reasonably priced also - we have paid a good bit more for less quality board and service.

And they have a lovely garden with beautiful chickens - and while we were there, a red squirrel!

Highly recommended.

- Edwin and family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
96
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

wow what a little gem everything was excellent room ,breakfast .views. steph and dean and family were wonderful in every way. perfect location too visit many places in the heart of the lakes and lovely walks and local pubs too hand

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this pleasant b&b in the Northern region of the Lake District for a short family holiday. We were traveling with our 3 year old daughter and small dog, both of whom were welcomed with open arms by the lovely hosts, Dean and Stephanie. The room had ample space for the four of us and while the bathroom was small, it was sufficient for our needs. The breakfast room was nicely appointed with a great view of the local fells. Breakfast selection was good and left us well fueled for our hikes around the area. Speaking of hikes, Dean provided us with several great hikes and even loaned us his personal map of the area to help guide us. Our daughter was particularly pleased with the b&b's family of chickens in the back garden, which she was able to help tend to in the mornings.

I would highly recommend checking out the Troutbeck Inn restaurant across the street. Dean recommended the restaurant on our first night and was kind enough to make a booking for us for our last night. Dean and Stephanie can also arrange picnics for your outings as well, a nice option, especially to enjoy in the gorgeous surroundings in the Lake District on a nice day. The b&b, located in the tiny village of Troutbeck, is just a short drive from Keswick and all of the areas one would visit in the Northern Lake District. All in all it was a great stay and I would absolutely recommend a stay at this fantastic b&b.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I had a one night stopover with our dog at this B&B. We were met by Dean who was very kind and welcoming. He made us a hot drink and we were invited to either sit in the lounge area or the dining room with views to the garden. Our dog was also made welcome.

We had the ground floor bedroom which was very nice. The only little niggles we found were no hook on the bedroom door to hang anything. The bedroom is situated on the ground floor at the front of the property and whilst it had curtains could have done with a privacy roller blind or just a net on the lower half of the window. The room could also do with a table or dresser so you can sit and dry your hair and do make up, otherwise you just have to sit on the bed and do this. The ensuite to this room is small but we managed. The glass shelf above the sink does get in the way when you are brushing your teeth and due to the legs of the sink it is cramped when sitting on the loo!

I wouldn't want the things mentioned above to detract from our stay because we did enjoy it and I think these are all solveable niggles.

Dean recommended the pub across the road the Troutbeck and we took his advice and weren't disappointed, in fact we had a lovely meal. Thanks.

Also, we had the option to leave the dog in the room when we went out which I thought was above and beyond what a lot of places would offer - though we did take her with us in the end.

Breakfast was very nice and it was lovely to look out to the garden and see the chickens roaming freely. All in all a very nice, homely establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A real home away from home! Stephanie and Dean were the perfect hosts in their delightful home. Our room was great, as was the hearty breakfast provided. Wi-fi was excellent and onsite parking plentiful. This is the place for a very relaxed and laid-back stay with hosts who went out of their way to help in every way. Dean was even so kind as to photocopy a number of walks for us and gave great directions on how to get places (and where to find free parking!). Their intimate knowledge of walks in the area proved very helpful, as did the numerous books and guides they made available to us. We found Netherdene to be a great location for our needs. This was our first visit to the Lake District and Stephanie and Dean helped make it that extra bit special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherdene T, Owner at Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet the two of you and hope to see you again when you next return to our shores. Best wishes stephanie & Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

this b&b is highly recommended, we were met by Dean on arrival who made us a hot drink and showed us our room which was lovely decorated and very clean, breakfast excellent with lovely views of the fells and the little chickens playing in the gardens. The owners Dean and Steph are fantastic, nothing is a problem to them, if visiting the lakes stay at the Netherdene you wont be disappointed, we will definitely be going back to stay in the near future, perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The owners were so welcoming. We felt very comfortable straight away. A great blend of professionalism coupled with a warm, informal and friendly approach. They were also very helpful and made some great suggestions as to where we could visit.
We loved our first visit visit to the Lake District and plan to return very soon...no doubt we will stay at the Netherdene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherdene T, Owner at Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was great to meet the three of you and it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom Bed & Breakfast situated in its own extensive garden in the North Lakes. 4 miles north of Ullswater, between Keswick and Penrith situated just off the A66. Ideally located for walks up and around Blencathra and Helvellyn areas in a semi rural location with the benefit of the local inn opposite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.