We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTED by this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cohunu Koala Park

Cohunu Koala Park
287a Mills Rd, Byford, Western Australia 6111, Australia
08 9390 6090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Byford
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hand feed free-roaming animals such as koalas, deer, kangaroos, dingoes and the many birds in the giant aviary.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“DISGUSTED by this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

How sad it was to go here. It wasn't a particularly hot day however in Byford it was and the animals were really feeling it. The poor kookaburras are in a tin enclosure which radiates the heat terribly and they were struggling. We're sad to think how they are on really hot days. Most of the cockies are in separate cages and were trying to get their heads through the bars to have contact with the bird in the cage next to it. We can't understand why there can't be a sprinkler system set up for the animals for hot days. It is a run down place and we would NEVER suggest tourists or anyone else for that matter got here. Try Caversham instead.(you can still see koalas). The animals are well looked after there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    13
    15
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Animals are well looked after.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great look around the park, the koalas are all at the entry when you walk in. For a quite new location it is well planned out and hopefully the trees will grow to provide much-needed shade. Picnic area needs expanding and a patch of grass would have been nice too. The train ride is good and takes you all around park and the train museum was interesting too; boring for the kids though. Some of the sculptures are old and need upgrading, worth the long drive out to Byford.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why go back?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Seen koalas, seen kangas, seen tigers and lions etc. Yawn. This place is so old and outdated. No I cant say anymore, now I am just filling in space to fufil your stupid 100 character limit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only place I know of to hold a koala in WA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Sure, go to the Perth Zoo to see everything else, but if you dont want to
Spend $210 to hold a koala, you've got to check this place out! Staff are friendly, and so fun to have a koala experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disgusted from Perth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We always used to take our oversees visitors to the Wildlife Park who always had a really good day. We'd take some food and a bottle of wine and spend the afternoon amongst the roo's & occasional visits from emus.
So today we ventured there again with another oversees visitor.
We got lost going to what we thought was the original park so used google maps and soon realised the park was no longer in the same location.
When we arrived we had an idea things were not going to be good but as we had a visitor we kept going.
We were disgusted with the place. No longer do the roos run free through the park. The koalas are in an unnatural cage & we were hassled for $25 to get a photo taken them.
The rest of the compound was like a mini prison and the cages were unfit for the poor animals.
DO NOT BOTHER VISITING THIS PLACE. You would be better off going to Perth Zoo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cohunu Koala Park also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
South Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Cohunu Koala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cohunu Koala Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.