We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just deserts for cyclists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitches Store

Pitches Store
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pitches Store to your Saves list
Pitches Store
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just deserts for cyclists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

As we were a bit tardy making our accommodation arrangements for our ride on the Central Otago Rail Trail only the up market places were available. Weren't we lucky. This is the sort of stopover you dream about. The staff were extremely welcoming and almost insisted we partake of the spa.
The cuisine was excellent with use of many local ingredients including the jams for breakfast. The beds were perfect the only problem was that we had to leave so soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the 2nd stop on the rail trail. Only about 3km off the trail. This building has been tastefully & beautifully restored to accommodation & dinning. Colleen & her staff we very welcoming & friendly. Our meals were great & a great selection of local wines. A very comfortable nights sleep before hitting the trail again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautifully restored store offering great accommodation and evening meal after our first day on the trail. The spa pool was also most appreciated.
Colleen was most welcoming and ensured we were suitably sated and rested before day two.
Ophir was well worth riding off the trail to visit and whether you are staying or just passing through we would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your review hope the rest of the trail was great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful night at Pitches Store. Colleen made us so welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. The room was everything we expected the beds comfortable and warm and the en suite a pleasure to use. It was a gift from our family for our 50th wedding anniversary and they could not have chosen a more appropriate accommodation. We had a beautiful evening meal with friends and the breakfast was so delicious. Nothing was a problem and Colleen and her husband made time to talk to all the guests. The building has been done up beautifully a real credit to them both. The staff were lovely always there to help and we were very impressed with their attitude one could tell that it was a good place to work. Thankyou for making our night so enjoyable. We will be back and would recommend Pitches Store to anyone wanting a night of luxury away from home

Room Tip: Each and every room would suit as they are all of a high standard. Quiet and spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you Val we loved having you to stay and so pleased you had a lovely time Colleen and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We arrived on a hot evening 2 weeks ago and were shown to our rooms. Both lovely. We sat outside and had a G&T in the courtyard outside our rooms. The meal was fantastic... the host was very friendly and made sure everyone had a great time. The beds were fantastic and we slept so well. Lovely breakfast in a casual situation with great coffee.. would go back there. Was the best experience of our 4 day bike ride. Thank you Colleen..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks Jessie for your kind words, we enjoyed having you to stay and glad it was a highlight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Pitches Store for a night when cycling the Rail Trail. The accomodation was first class and the evening meal superb. Colleen ( the owner ) ensured we were well looked after and after the cycling we enjoyed the relaxing spa. Ophir is slightly off the Trail but is well worth visiting. We would highly recommend Pitches Store (Colleen and her team ) for both the accomodation excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Betty for your review. We appreciate your time to write about us and are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a stop over for 11 of us who were on the Otago Rail Trail and was our best experience overall from the point of view of accommodation and evening meal.

Unfortunately our 2nd day ended in rain + head wind + cold.

We arrived at Ophir with the elements against us. We sheltered after 66km of cycling in the station shed but the weather did not let up.

We hopped on our bikes to find a little piece of heaven.
A short bike ride from the trail brought us to Pitchers.

We were greeted and advised that they had worried about us because of the weather. Without hesitation they welcomed us, encouraged us to come in and asked if there was anything else they could do to help.

The rooms were cosy, plush, plenty of towels, slippers, bath robes, beautiful bathroom amenities, a spa, comfortable beds, and laundary.

We also had the best dinner here. Beautiful menu perfectly cooked - all meals were exceptional. Especially the soup the chef had mad because of the weather, unfortunately we were not aware of this effort and did not fully appreciate the beautiful soup which we tasted off one of our groups bowls.

Breakfast was equally delicious. Fresh crossiant, speciality breads, the best muesli, cherries to die for.

The service was spectacular and truely reflects what is special about the south Islands hospitality.

We loved it. We bought from the store as well and we are all planning on a good excuse to return to be pampered again.

Avert special memory for us all

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It was great having you to stay, you were an awesome group. Hope the rest of your trip was great.
Look forward to another visit from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitches Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitches Store

Address: 45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pitches Store 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pitches Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitches Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.