We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitches Store- sounds interesting and does not disappoint.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitches Store

Pitches Store
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pitches Store to your Saves list
Pitches Store
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pitches Store- sounds interesting and does not disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived in the exquisite historic town of Ophir after cycling 39 km from Clyde and finished the day at our pre-booked accommodation venue located in the Main Street of Ophir.The building is over 130 years old and has been lovingly converted by Colleen and David Hurd into upmarket , 4 star , 6 bedroom boutique accommodation with a great restaurant . The beds are all king size and very comfortable and the room is quiet.The restaurant food was superb - I had duck breast with pineapple filo parcels/ginger chutney/book choy/pommes dauphine/sezchuan pepper sauce- cooked to perfection and tasted sensational - followed by an equally delightful coconut rice pudding. There were no complaints from anyone else at the table.The wine list was made up of some excellent central Otago wines - we sampled a local Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir - both excellent. Pitches Store has been tastefully restored - it has a certain je ne sais quoi - it exudes a taste of France tinged with a large dollop of rustic central Otago.
I highly recommend a stay at Pitches Store.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay and pleased you enjoy your experience with us.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and wish you a relaxing festive season.

Colleen and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pitches Store was such a surprise in this part of the country. 6 of us cycling the rail trail stayed here in the most perfect rooms. The food was divine and Colleen was the best host. We enjoyed a spa after the cycling and then had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were all more than happy with our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It was nice having you to stay Carolyn and great that you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we were so pleased with our stay at pitches store. we used to base ourselves in danseys pass or naseby for our monthly trips to hike and play in central, until we had a lunch at pitches and decided to book a sleepover. there is no where else in central, perhaps in the South Island, that we have found that offers such hospitality and comfort in such a low key atmosphere. this isn't a lodge or lake side luxury boutique hotel, but the food, the bedsheets and the service are right up there with the best. the difference here is that it also feels like home. thank you, Colleen, for giving us somewhere wonderful to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Laura, David and Grace we loved having you to stay and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to catching up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Colleen - your place is just spectacular! The rooms are perfect, the food to-die-for, the service infallible and the spa is the perfect way to relax after a long day on the trail. Thank you for making my birthday trip with my darling mother on the rail trail unforgettable. You are full of laughter - so thanks for a perfect night and I am sure we will be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a great boutique experience. Lovely rooms, great dining and friendly hosts. Clean and generous from bathroom toiletries through to delicious breakfast. Highly recommended. The Spa at then end of the first day biking the trail, very relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed the night here in April 2013 as part of our Otago Rail Trail adventure. Although Ophir is a short ride away from the trail, it is a place well worth visiting. The same can be said for Pitches Store. The photos don't do it justice. We experienced excellent laid back service, a relaxing spa, wonderful meal and a relaxing nights sleep. The breakfast was brilliant (birchler muesli, preserved fruit ...) - shame to leave really but the trail was calling

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have direct access to the courtyard and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our one night stay at Pitches Store was absolute bliss after cycling the Rail Trail. Luxurious accommodation, excellent food and wonderful attentive hosts in Colleen and David. I had their signature dish for dinner, 'merino lamb' which was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep and were further restored by a magnificent breakfast before, sadly, having to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitches Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitches Store

Address: 45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pitches Store 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pitches Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitches Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.