We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast
17359 Highway 35 | R.R. #2, Algonquin Highlands, Ontario K0M 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stouffer Mill B & B is a peace of heaven on earth, absolutely the most delightful lodging we have could have imagined! During our 10 night stay we daily enjoyed Jessie's wonderfully delicious breakfasts, complete with dessert, no less. Some days included hiking the well-marked trails, relaxing with nature views and sounds, enjoying conversations with Don & Jessie, and visiting with well-mannered and lovable Chloe! The hosts open their home, as well as their hearts, to their guests and we look forward to returning. The time spent refreshed both body and spirit!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Sleigh Room, with the private bath in the hall and it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottawa, canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we had a wonderful time in this B and B , We spend 3 nights on the begining of august . the house was amazing so welcoming , you feel like at home. They have a pool and a hot tub and 3 trails around the proprety. it was really great. this place is peaceful. And the hosts so helpful and nice.
we will be back on the winter time for a dogsledding experience ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I highly recommend a stay at the Stouffermill. The home is as beautiful as the surroundings that it is nestled in. You have all the comforts of home. Extremely comfortable beds, and
total cleanliness throughout. Jessie is an amazing cook and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 course breakfast. I enjoyed looking at all the amazing antiques throughout the home.
The trails were very enjoyable, especially the one that takes you to the beaver pond where you can watch them in action. The hosts Don and Jessie go out of their way to make sure you get the most enjoyable stay. They are very kind and interesting hosts. We look forward to staying again in the fall.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were met by Don painting the gates as his energy to improve his wonderland never ceases. He was gracious to share his knowledge of woodworking and trees as we enjoyed this common interest throughout our 3 day stay. Chloe also made us feel at home, as we too have a German Sheppard, but not as gentle and proud, as she guided us through the trails in the woods. Jessie's reputation for delectable breakfast on the patio surpassed our expectation and every need. We enjoyed the peacful gardens, trees, trails, pool, hot tub, bbq, gazebo, and views from the many decks. We chose this place because of its proximity to hiking trails and canoe routes. What we found was an amazingly warm, welcoming, delightful retreat. We had perfect summer weather but would love to return in the fall or winter for more of Stouffer Mill's hospitality.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are spacious and comfortable, each with a private bath. Use of a fridge, microwave and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a fabulous find! Spectacular views from every window of this one of a kind home nestled in the woods, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the lake and forested hills. A real home away from home filled with beautiful antiques and collectibles. Well appointed rooms and fully equipped quest lounge. Enjoyed a self catered, poolside BBQ dinner and delicious multi course breakfast beautifully presented in the formal dining room. by our gracious hosts, Don and Jessie. Don't miss the opportunity to visit this wonderful retreat. It would be amazing any time of the year.

Room Tip: each room is lovely but the king bed wiould be more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thank you Don and Jesse for a wonderful stay at Stouffer Mill. My husband and I along with another couple stayed for 2 nights and had a delicious breakfast each morning. We felt very comfortable in their spectacular home surrounded by handmade furniture and antiques which I personally love. The scenery was magnificent and they made us feel at home. I highly recommend this to anyone who needs a getaway from the "hussle and bussle" of everyday living.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I enjoyed the welcome by Chloe who led us to the most beautiful home with amazing wood finishes and unique style with carefully placed antique and furniture made by Don. Breakfast by Jessie was amazing and enjoyed the view on the Patio and from the dining room table(rained one morning). Chloe took us on a tour to the Beaver Pond and although I know Mosquitos are insane in June was still worth the walk. Rooms were cozy and decided not to use the hot tub. We drove up on Motorcycles and took in sights with the helpful recommendations made by Don and Jessie. We had a lot of privacy as we were the only one's booked on the weekend and it was what I needed. Gorgeous home and great food with wonderful hosts. I am almost afraid to give it to good a review in case it is fully booked when I want to go back. I had a nice glass of wine while looking over grounds to the lake from deck outside our room and the view was so wonderful.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are nice again we were only one's there so picked the room with bath down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 17359 Highway 35 | R.R. #2, Algonquin Highlands, Ontario K0M 1J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Algonquin Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stouffer Mill Bed and Breakfast on Halls Lake in the Haliburton Highlands is a unique, 12-sided, circular, post and beam home with suspended rooms and Canadian pine antiques. All 3 guest rooms have private baths and decks. The roof top hot tub, common room fireplace and the peaceful seclusion makes Stouffer Mill the perfect getaway. Roam our 136 acre estate on 5 kms of beautiful nature trails leading to a large active beaver pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.