We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful, had the whole site to ourselves!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines on Boshkung

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pines on Boshkung
Save
You added The Pines on Boshkung to your Saves list
16541 Hwy 35, Algonquin Highlands, Ontario K0M1J1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply wonderful, had the whole site to ourselves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing getaway to The Pines on Boshkung! Went for a last minute 2 nights midweek getaway with little expectations and was treated with great hospitality from Terry and Chris. Of course it helped that we had amazing weather, late spring after a long winter, and recent flooding in the Minden,Haliburton area. Our cottage was just right with a barbecue outside and a fireplace outside to sit by while gazing at the stars. A lovely sundeck to watch the beautiful sunset and the stillness of the tranquil Boshkung lake. We took advantage of the kayak and the second day used their row boat for a trip to Buttermilk falls, aww breathtaking. Terry and Chef Chris are the owners of a wonderful restaurant, 20 minute drive from the cottages, in Eagle Lake, Rhubarb. Quite an amazing dinner, with a beautiful view with floor to ceiling window of natural scenery.
The meal was simply delicious, just perfect. We started off with warm bread with a lovely artichoke and feta spread,loved the fresh snipped dill , shared an appetizer of a crabcake and shrimp with romesco sauce, light and delicious. My entree was Pickerel with lemon, chive butter just gorgeous a and delight to my tastebuds. Chris' beef tenderloin with broiled shrimp was devine, he barely let me have any. We waited a bit before dessert to savour the lasting flavours on our palate, Yum! For dessert I had molten,chocolate cake with delicious vanilla ice cream with drizzled maple syrup, no sharing with Chris and he had the maple ,pear crème brûlée. The coffee was splendid as well.
My only worry is too many people will discover this gem and wonderful hosts that the serenity, calmness, and solitude will be foresaken for there being more people to take that away, but they deserve the accolades, and success of loyal guests like ourselves who will be returning and spreading the word to others. Thanks Terry and Chris ,we had an unforgettable getaway, good luck but when you get solid booked , please don't forget us, as we will always remember! Cheers, Helena and Chris

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Place was well kept for being 60 years old! Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was stunned by the sheer beauty when I first arrived at Ruby's and went to the lake to take a look around. There are no words to describe the breath-taking beauty!
We were there for the first weekend of April, so it was off season and we had the place to ourselves in a winterized cottage that also had a wood stove. It was so nice and cozy! The cottage was clean and well kept, spacious and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better getaway. The girls and I are already planning a return trip! Thanks Peter and Marie-Claire for making our weekend as relaxing as possible!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

the weather helped, the water was lovely and the hosts were very kind.

It felt like a private beach, nice and quiet.

Many things to do in this resort.

FUN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This Ice fishing trip was a gift for my Fiancee and our friends and it was the most amazing weekend! Four of us slept great, fished every morning bright and early thanks to the curtious hosts Marie Claire and Peter and their transportation, and caught more fish then we could count! The private hottub provided for us in Cabin #1 was a fabulous end to each fishing day! We will certainly be visiting as soon as possible, no would be dissappointed with this vacation spot, the Hosts and Ruby's are AWESOME! -J.M.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We just returned from a beautiful 2 night stay at Rubys Cottages.

We went as a group from work to do some ice fishing................
The cottage (number 7) was very nice and close to the main hot-tub. The hot-tub room was well done and very well maintained and beautifully enclosed for warmth in the coldest weather...Of course the 101 temp helps.
The cottages have everything you would need and Peter even takes you out to the ice huts or you can walk(10 min's ) to the huts and he drills the holes and provides bait and everything you need to catch fish. We caught 4 trout but returned them as two were lake breeders and two were smaller so we decided to return them for next year. Fishing was slower than normal we were told but we really enjoyed the area and the quiet.
The lake has mostly White fish and Lake trout. Check which ones you can keep first so you know ...They give you MNR chart to have and have your licence up to date.

Beautiful location right off Hwy 35 (easy to get to ) and very quiet....
You can hear a pin drop at times....It was so relaxing we hated to leave.
The cottage is very warm and has a great view of the lake and the boat house is just down a short flight of stairs which contains a games room with another TV and table tennis with a games table to have fun.
What a heavenly view from here ...Do they rent that ? They don't but very beautiful and is all done in pine and smells wonderful.

The owners are wonderful people and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
I will be returning to enjoy some summer time with the kids this summer as well.

Recommended with no worries.........
It is a beautiful setting and clean cottages on a nice waterfront.....The pictures tell me they have a great beach also in the summer.

What else could you want ?
ENJOY !!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed at Ruby's for Christmas, to get away from the big city. Everything was great. Quiet. Cottages are very neat, and the staff are very friendly. The outdoor hot tub was something that we really enjoyed. If you're looking for the Canadian experience.. this is it. The only thing wrong... cottage # 1... the Queen bed is hard as rock. Bring an air mattress with you, and sleep on that. Otherwise, great great great.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pines on Boshkung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines on Boshkung

Address: 16541 Hwy 35, Algonquin Highlands, Ontario K0M1J1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Highlands
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming waterfront cottages on gorgeous Boshkung Lake. Enjoy fully equipped cottages and view spectacular sunsets. Boating, swimming, 4 season resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines on Boshkung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.