We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnival Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top O' Tobago Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnos Vale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top O' Tobago Villa
Save
You added Top O' Tobago Villa to your Saves list
Arnos Vale Road, Arnos Vale, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Arnos Vale B&B and Inns
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Carnival Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiance and I stayed her for four nights as a Carnival Getaway in one of the Cabanas, and we couldn't ask for more. The location is absolutely serene, the views, the sounds and the landscaping of Top O' Tobago makes it an ideal escape from the hustle and bustle. The grounds are well kept, and there are trails leading away from the villa to the nearby Arnos Vale Beach. The cabanas are lovely, well equipment, and with its own private gazebo for dining or relaxing. On the property there are three cabanas, and the main house, off of which is the pool. It is approximately a twenty-five minute drive to Crown Point, and ten minutes to Black Rock. Some of the nearby sites which can be visited are Plymouth with the Mystery Tombstone, the Waterwheel, and Castara Bay which is a 30 minutes drive, which boasts the most beautiful view in the world. Kudos to Silja and the staff who were very accommodating, making sure we were welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you found the place relaxing for a great Carnival break. We enjoy it here also, at the top of our hill.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We flew over from Trinidad in the morning. Silja collected us from the airport and was happy to drop us at the supermarket on the way to Arnos Vale, which was handy to allow us to collect some food/drinks.
A trip had been arranged with other guests to see the Highland Falls, so we dropped our bags and were driven down, with a nice walk to and from the waterfall.

We stayed in a Cabana, which was well laid out with a big bed and everything you'd need/expect in a self-catered room. Outside, there was a covered area, with bougainvillea & orchids that offered a lovely view over the nearby hills. If you chose to take breakfast here, many types of bird will pass or stop, ogling your breakfast. Only the Mot Mots were bold enough to make a move for food while we were there! Hummingbirds and antshrikes, among others, are common.
Great views from the poolside down to the sea and well laid out grounds with all variety of fruit trees (which you are encouraged to take advantage of).

The local beach is great for snorkelling, with fish just a few feet from the shore. Venture a little further out and the colours (of fish and coral) intensify. All just a 10 minute walk from the room.

We stayed for 3 days. As we are happy to walk anywhere, this was fine as there are small supermarkets in Plymouth where you can get food/drinks.

Service was excellent and everyone on-site was helpful and friendly.
Great place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

We took an early flight back and Silja ran us down to the airport (in the dark!). This seems to be part of the service but is nevertheless very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you were able to walk around and enjoy the many attractions within the immediate vicinity of Top O Tobago. We hope to welcome you here again.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Trinidad & Tobago, the first time either of us has been to Caribbean. This place exceeded our expectations. The manager, Silja, picked us up from the ferry terminal and even took us to the grocery store on our way to the hotel. She was always on hand to help us with whatever we needed. The villa was so beautiful, and had a wonderful deck in the back where we could watch the birds and eat dinners in the warm evenings. Everything was spotless and the kitchenette was fully-stocked. The views are magnificent. We hiked to Highland Falls, a beautiful nearby waterfall, with the very helpful map included in the hotel's information book. Oh, and the property has a grill, which we used to cook out each night. When we left, Silja dropped us off at the ferry again. The owners should be proud--the service and accommodations were flawless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Tobago some day.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Top O' Tobago was the first place we stayed on our Tobago Tour and it made for a great start. Silja met us at the airport ( no payment expected for this!) and stopped on the way at a diner as we were hungry. Our room was huge, very comfortably and colourfully decked out and complete with a lovely little covered deck. Top O' Tobago as the name suggests sit high up in the trees with a view of the ocean. The gardens are alive with the sounds of birds and whilst sitting on your terrace all manner of colourful feathered friends come visiting. The pool is exquisite and quiet and the short trek down through the woods to a lovely near deserted Caribbean beach, with great snorkelling (gear provided free at the house) delightful. Silja even took us to our next Hotel ( again without wanting payment). A lovely, relaxing,low key, bird heaven kind of a place with helpful staff . We highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabana called Jacamar and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Debbie,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the villa and the beach. It's always good to hear when someone enjoys the place as much as we do.

Sincerely Camille Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent Valentines weekend there and it was certainly a great escape. When you walk out your doorway of the Main Villa you're greeted by a wonderful and large pool surrounded by mountains on almost all sites. You can even see the ocean from up here! It's surreal and really makes Top O' Tobago feel special. The Main Villa has a wonderful and large kitchen and the entire house is very Caribbean with high white ceilings and open air. As if the natural outdoor scenery wasn't good enough, the landscaping of the entire acreage is wonderful. You can go for nice walks right outside the villa. The location is also pretty ideal. Close of enough to the main tourist attractions around Store Bay/Crown Point and Scarborough as well as less than an hours drive to Englishman's Bay and the also wonderful Castara.

I will definitely recommend Top O' Tobago to anyone looking for a beautiful secluded villa where you feel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Rajeev,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the view, the gardens and the walks around the property, as well as the location. It's always wonderful to hear that our guests have a good experience.
Thanks again.
Camille Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent two weeks in Top O'Tobago to start off the year. We had a problem with our driver's license, so could not rent a vehicle. This did not turn out to be a big problem. Silja picked us up, she took us for groceries when we needed them. Camille and Derek took us to the Highland Falls and to Scarborough for Shopping. Silja helped up get to other beaches several times. We were always made to feel welcome. We had no problem with making meals in our Cabana and ate most of our meals in the gazebo behind the Cabana with the birds and the trees. You can get food, money, and other supplies in Plymouth which is about a 1/2 hour walk away. The Arnos Vale beach is about a 15 minute walk and we went to that beach most days. The snorkeling is great with thousands of fish. There is also hidden beach nearby and the Mot Mot trail. Even the old sugar mill is relatively close and worth a look. The area around Top O'Tobago is very beautiful with the jungle, birds, and the ocean. We spent most of our days right on the property, in our gazebo, reading, having meals, or at the pool. The property is very well landscaped and lots of fresh fruit. If you like self catering, which we normally do, this is a perfect place to stay and see Tobago. It is not in a tourist area, so you need to travel to see the standard touristy things, but if you like birds, trees, beaches, and warm sunshine it will have everything you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Wendy,
Thanks so much for your review. We're really happy that you and David spent so much time exploring all the natural delights in and around the area. We love it, and are pleased that you did too.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at Top O'Tobago to bring in 2014. Easy check-in, made you remember the beauty of staying at a smaller private villa. Also received a discount for being Trinidadian, which was a very welcome surprise. My girlfriend is from Costa Rica, so these types of cabanas in the mountains with serenity and close to nature is very common in Costa Rica, and we were both very happy to see the same and even better in Tobago!

I have been to Tobago many times, and this was one of my best stays. I would call it my first non-typical Tobago visit. Top O'Tobago is 15-25 minutes from all the typical beach & bar action on the southern side of the island, and 30-40 minutes to the more peaceful Castara / North Caribbean Coast options. Well located.

Privacy was superb, felt at home in the complete cabana (fully-stocked kitchen), with fruits supplied at check-in, and the staff left the space to us. The cabana was very clean, and anything we thought we needed, was perfectly stored and available within the cabana, well organized with storage space and hooks. The patio was beautiful in the mornings to have breakfast, and sit outside and listen to the mountains wake-up, with the view of the ocean as well. The dogs on property, Bella and Bandit, greeted us warmly and playfully when we arrived home.

We were out exploring and enjoying Tobago most of the day. Overall an excellent experience! If I need to identify an area for improvement, it would be to install more street lights on the short road into the property, so that nighttime entry is a little brighter.

Very happy to know that Top O' Tobago is a Top option for my future visits to Tobago!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Clifford,
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We're happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay here. Thanks also for your observation about the driveway lights. We have them bought. This will give us incentive to get their installation higher on our priority list.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top O' Tobago Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top O' Tobago Villa

Address: Arnos Vale Road, Arnos Vale, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arnos Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top O Tobago is a villa which occupies the entire crest of a hill close to Caribbean Sea coast of SW Tobago. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the closest beach and there is a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills, valleys and coastline. The villa is comprised of a main 3 bedroom house, 3 studio apartments and 1 one bedroom apartment, each with its own patio and garden, and access to a common swimming pool. The villa offers the best of both rural and urban lifestyles. It is located on several acres of land with flower gardens, fruit trees, jungle vegetation and walking paths; but it is also within a 10 to 20 minute drive of numerous restaurants and shopping facilities. Top O Tobago is truly at the nexus of many worlds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top O' Tobago Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.