We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure indulgance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tredethy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tredethy House to your Saves list
Tredethy House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pure indulgance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For a romantic weekend, this is perfect, its a lovely old English country house, with a very Italian influence towards romance. Marco is very helpful offering advice on where to go, there is a restaurant here too, check for opening times. We did not take up the opportunity to eat here this time - maybe next time! Our room was room 1, which has stunning views across the Cornish countryside, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the linen was spotlessly clean and luxuriously soft, so much so, that my husband wanted to take it home! the room was very large and airy, and the large bathroom was lovely too. An ideal setting to go exploring from as its not far from the main towns such as Bodmin, Padstow, Wadebridge and Newquay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will offer fantastic views across the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    22
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
57
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic house to stay stunning views and we had room 6 very large and such a comfortable bed. The house had elements of Italian culture and feel. The owner Marcos is very friendly as are his team of 2 lady's. They serve the freakiest breakfast with homemade yogurt and granola the Palma ham is cooked by the owner and the pecorino cheese is so delicious. Fresh bread and patisseries. Would come back for the breakfast alone best by far of any hotel 5 star we gave stayed at. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had read positive reviews of Tredethy House and decided to book a family room for two midweek nights, as it is convenient for the Eden Project. We were not disappointed! The house is stunning - large elegant rooms, beautiful period features and set in lovely countryside.
Our host, Marco, was so welcoming, making sure we were comfortable in our room. The Trattoria is only open at weekends, so we were about to set off in search of an evening meal, but Marco kindly offered to rustle up some Italian food for us as we'd been driving all day. It is also one of the few times in my life when I've experienced a hotelier being positively thrilled when told we are a family of vegetarians! The food was delicious and I'd definitely recommend it as a restaurant, even if not staying in the hotel.
The family room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a connected separate room with bunk beds for the children. As it was a very cold Easter this year, the house was a little on the chilly side, so an extra layer was needed at night!
The breakfasts were delicious; homemade granola, muesli and yogurts, plus good bread, Italian cheese, fresh fruit and croissants.
All in all, a very friendly place where we were all very well looked after - I wouldn't hesitate to go back there again. Thank you Marco and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A very warm welcome by the owner Marco. The room was perfect in every way with nice little touches to please you. The linen, towels and bathrobes were spotless. The whole atmosphere was relaxed, and you were made to feel at home the minute you walked through the front entrance. The breakfasts were great with a varied selection to whet your appetite. It was very pleasant to come back in the evening and sample Marco's cooking in the Trattoria washed down with excellent wine.We will be return later this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Warm welcome even though I arrived late in the day. Beautiful room overlooking the Cornish countryside. The room was furnished in a style I appreciated. There were nice little touches throughout the room. It was warm with a lovely comfortable bed. Fresh crisp white linen and towels. The room received a housekeeping visit each day and was spotlessly clean. Even though my visit to Cornwell was a working visit, I have already made my mind up to use Tredethy House again next year. The owner was attentive without being intrusive. I found him a charming host. Breakfast was lovely. Although I am a vegetarian, I was able to enjoy the fresh croissants and fruit juice. My sort of place. Can't praise it enough.

Room Tip: I liked room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I indeed enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere, the treatment, the rooms, the location which allowed us to go around Cornwall coming back "home" every night. It was a great week and we'll come back for sure to enjoy a mixture of Anglo-Italian hospitality, which ended with a new and fantastic wireless setup.
Patrizio and Mariella

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This B&B was a pleasant surprise during our first trip to Cornwall. I was not expecting anything like that from a B&B. The house is just astonishing, beautifully kept and furnished with taste. Our room was clean, big and comfortable. The bed was fantastic. We arrived late in the afternoon, stayed for dinner and spent a very nice evening chatting with the friendly owner and employes. The food for both dinner and breakfast was really good. They only serve fresh/organic/home made stuff. Excellent place! I have already recommended it to friends and I will definitively go back next time we go to Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tredethy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethy House

Address: Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Tredethy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tredethy House is a beautiful, peaceful and informally elegant English Country House set in an area of outstanding beauty. Built in Tudor times and later extended, it has been the unique home of many British families and of Prince Chula of Thailand until the late sixties. A delightful and unique holiday spot today, Tredethy offers privacy and the blissful peace of the countryside whatever the season and is yet at easy reach of the North and South Coast as well as the many places of interest such as the Eden Project and the divine National Trust Houses and Gardens of Cornwall. The seven acres of grounds at Tredethy are themselves a piece of history with original planting like the most beautiful Hydrangeas and pink Rhododendrons. March hosts hundreds of narcissus, April is time for the breathtaking display of bluebells, followed by wild garlic and blue and pink wildflowers. Autumn is a fantastic season, full of colour and peace, and lots of anticipation for the festive season we all look forward to every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Tredethy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tredethy Hotel Bodmin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tredethy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.