We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION TO UNWIND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barangay Mano, San Remigio, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Remigio
Cebu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION TO UNWIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been to Casa del Mar several times and never had any issues. We are very
happy with the location as we want to have peace and tranquility. In other resorts
you will be disturbed by vendors, noisy children, waterjets, etc.

We come here to play golf and relax. The new addition with the horses was very
much appreciated by our daughter and even my wife went up on a horse on the
beach, but just for the photo.

Food and drinks are good, staff is friendly and accommodating, if you just ask them,
and all its all is well kept, we saw some restoration being done, roofs improved,
edging being painted, etc. On an occasion after a storm there might be some
seaweed on the beach but its always cleaned away within the day.

A resort or hotel must be rated subject the room rates, and Casa del Mar with the
discounted rates On-Line we give top rate, in relation to what we paid, It is hard to
find a place like this for that price.

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Suite, so you have direct access to the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was a 3 Days, 2 Nights stay together with my fiancee... i was amazed by the white beach and the peacefulness of the place... u can hear the Gecko in Cebuano "TOKO" every night and in the morning you can hear the sweet chirps of the birds and to mention as you open your door you have a terrace overlooking the sea and brush your face "pak" to the sweet breeze of air... presentation of the food is average. anyone who wants to have a relaxation out of the city... Time will stop when you are there in Casa Del Mar....

Room Tip: choose the room with a terrace overlooking the sea... choose room numbers 16 and 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Alayre, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come we will upgrade you to a Garden Suite and this time you will swim with the Horses in the ocean, and your girl friend, diba??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Me, my 2 sons, my daughter, and my wife spent 1 whole week in Casa Del Mar. This was our first time travelling to Cebu, so we went all over. After 2 weeks in the city and roaming around south, we wanted to take a break for a while. Although we only planned to stay in Casa Del Mar for 4 days, we extended our stay because my family just enjoyed it. The Hotel was peaceful and the beach was very nice. The beach was clean most of the days we stayed, and was real white sand, what a treat! And speaking about the staff, although we didn’t see many of them, when we did it was all smiles, they weren’t the speediest staff but it seemed like they were trying their best. The food was AMAZING! Something you wouldn’t expect from a small resort in a small town. The room we took was spacious, and clean. The kids enjoyed the beach, pool, but what took us by surprise was that we were offered to go riding HORSES! The kids rode a horse for the first time, I myself as well, and then we rode them IN THE OCEAN! I still cant believe it! To summarize everything, it was a cute little resort, and a peaceful getaway, perfect for families!

Room Tip: Pick a ground level suite, so you can walk out onto the garden and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks Eric, we will give you complimentary Water Rides when you return with your kids, thanks for the comments, Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you want to go Mall you go Ayala or SM, if you want to party you go Makati but if you want peace and quite and play golf and swim or ride small you go Casa Del Mar. Our trip was nice 2 1/2 hour car ride on coast then across mountain. We arrive after lunch and were in clean ocean water in 10 minutes. We were lucky, horses were swimming, we had a small ride, that was funny, very fun. We stay in Garden Suite and had meals on terrace, very peace. Next day play golf, course very fresh, needs more maintenance, but still nice. Staff said next month start improving golf course and open Korean restaurant, we come back more, next with friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks Mr Hung for your response. You are correct, guests who know where they are going are normally happy here in San Remigio, unfortunately some guests book too fast and does not realize the distance from the City, thanks and welcome back with your golfing buddies, Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Looking at the previous comments on Tripadvisor we reluctantly booked, we had relatives to visit in Bogo, and there are no better resorts in San Remigio/Medellin/Bogo. However, we had a very pleasant stay. Food was good and inexpensive, room was clean, wifi worked and staff was very helpful with all. For the price we paid we were very happy and can recommend Casa Del Mar to anybody, especially if they play golf or want to ride horses. Our kids loved the riding in the water, and they still talk about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks Benny for your comments. We are currently improving our services and adding more staff. Refurbishment of some rooms, added Flat screens, added cable TV, new furniture, etc as well as some improvements on the golf course will shortly be executed. Thanks, Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The online advertised is convincing. The view of the beach is amazing & its greatly convincing of the customers but its very very dirty at the sea side. Food overpricing w/ service charge of 10%. Rooms very dirty, noisy aircons, terrace very dirty full of waste of the birds. Wifi is damaged cant use for the entire stay. Pool, showers are damage. Its very very remote area. In general no maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
MEMO TO CASA DEL MAR GUESTS

APOLOGY
On behalf of the Owners we apologize to the Guests that had a disappointing experience in Casa del Mar.

NEW MANAGEMENT
During the last half-year Casa del Mar has been under negotiation and its now finalized. From April 1, 2013 a new, young and experienced Management is taking over the Resort.

GOLF COURSE REFURBISHMENT
The new management is dedicated to golfers and the golf course will be refurbished. Tee houses and toilets will be built, the road will be improved, new Golf Carts will be imported, the Turf Management will be adding new staff, an additional hole will extend the course to 6400 yards, improvements will be done to the Irrigation system and new mowers will be added to the Turf Equipment.

HOTEL UPGRADE
The Hotel will be modernized, flat screens placed in the rooms, new linen, authentic Korean food will be added to the menu, Karaoke, watersport facilities, Wi-Fi, etc. will also be upgraded. Most faucets, doors, curtains will be replaced. An additional indoor dining venue will be added for non-golfers.

NON-GOLFERS SUITES & ROOMS
The Suites on the Ground Floor will cater to non-golfers, families and Members and have a separate Reception and Guest care staff unit. Only the Ground Floor Suites and Rooms will be bookable On-Line.

GOLFERS ROOMS
The Bungalows, Second Floor and Penthouses will be reserved for Golf Packages and Golf groups. These rooms will have separate Guest care staff.

POLO & HORSES
A dozen horses will remain on the property and riders who want to learn or practice polo skills are welcome. Half the polo field will be maintained for Stick & Ball practice. The other half will be used for casual riding on the polo field and around the golf property. Swimming with horses will also be available. All horse activity must be booked the day before. Lessons are offered on weekends only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Remigio hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Where do I start with my experience of this hotel????????
I decided to take a trip out of Cebu to a hotel by the beach and decided on Casa Del Mar Golf Resort.It looked good in photos.But that is as far as it got!Advertised to have golf,restaurant,non motorized watersports,pool,beach,cable tv wifi in public areas.
Where do I start?Firstly,arriving in the town of San Remigio,you then have to take a motorcycle about 6-7km just to get to the gate of the resort.Then,another 2km from the gate to the actual hotel.So,its far away from the town.So,effectively,you are trapped there unless you pay to take a motorcycle back to the town.
Upon arriving at our room,we found no tv,no internet connection,faulty fittings,no fridge.We asked to move and we were "upgraded" to another room which did have a fridge and tv,but still no internet connection.The tv worked,but no cable available,even though we counted 5 satelites within yards of our room.The plug in the sink was broken which kept the water in the sink.Twice we asked for it to be repaired before it overflowed.Again,some fittings not working.
The food is good,but seriously overpriced,probably double what you normally pay in any restaurant in Cebu.A small can of beer was three times the price of a supermarket.
When we enquired about possibly horse riding on the beach,we were told the horses were actually in Cebu,3hrs away by bus!!!Non motorized watersports consisted of one canoe,with no paddle/oar.Pool was small and clean most of the time.The beach,small as it was,was filthy.Plenty of staff around could have cleaned it quickly if they wanted to.Speaking of staff,not exactly friendly,and very lax in attitude.Service charge of 10% automatically included in everything which does not go to the staff,but directly to the owner.Golf expensive for the course condition.
Overall,would not recommend this hotel.Even the driver taking us back to the town said they get very little if any repeat business.I am not surprised!Even if it was free,and free transport from the town to the hotel,I would not stay here again!!

Room Tip: Rooms were reasonably clean,but faulty fittings/no fittings for lamps/lights.Cottages very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
APOLOGY
On behalf of the Owners we apologize to the the Guests that had a disappointing experience in Casa del Mar.

NEW MANAGEMENT
During the last half year Casa del Mar has been under negotiation and its now finalised. From April 1, 2013 a new, young and experienced Management is taking over the Resort.

GOLF COURSE REFURBISHMENT
The new management is dedicated to golfers and the golf course will be refurbished. Tee houses and toilets will be built, the road will be improved, new Golf Carts will be imported, the Turf Management will be adding new staff, an additional hole will extend the course to 6400 yards, improvements will be done to the Irrigation system and new mowers will be added to the Turf Equipment.

HOTEL UPGRADE
The Hotel will be modernised, flat screens placed in the rooms, new linen, authentic Korean food will be added to the menu, Karaoke, watersport facilities, WiFi, etc will also be upgraded. Most faucets, doors, curtains will be replaced. An additional indoor dining venue will be added for non-golfers.

NON-GOLFERS SUITES & ROOMS
The Suites on the Ground Floor will cater to non-golfers, families and Members and have a separate Reception and Guest care staff unit. Only the Ground Floor Suites and Rooms will be bookable On-Line.

GOLFERS ROOMS
The Bungalows, Second Floor and Penthouses will be reserved for Golf Packages and Golf groups. These rooms will have separate Guest care staff.

POLO & HORSES
A dozen horses will remain on the property and riders who want to learn or practice polo skills are welcome. Half the polo field will be maintained for Stick & Ball practice. The other half will be used for casual riding on the polo field and around the golf property. Swimming with horses will also be available. All horse activity must be booked the day before. Lessons are offered on weekends only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort

Address: Barangay Mano, San Remigio, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > San Remigio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Remigio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar Golf, Polo and Beach Resort is a Boutique Resort 2,5 hours away from Cebu City and Mactan International Airport. The Resort offers golf, horseback riding and polo practice beside beach and pool relaxation. Scuba Diving can easily be arrange from nearby dive shop. The food offered in the Coffee shop and Beach Bistro is Mediterranean, Asian and local dishes. Authentic Korean food is added to the menu. There is Billard, Volley ball and Karaoke for extra activities. The resort is secluded and you won't be bothered by vendors, traffic or other disturbances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Casa Del Mar Golf And Dive Hotel
Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort Cebu Island/San Remigio, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.