We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cautionary tale” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elveden Estate

Elveden Estate
London Road, Elveden IP24 3TJ, England
01842 898068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Elveden
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A cautionary tale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped here Friday lunchtime because we had been delayed by the 40 mph restrictions and roadworks and wanted a good lunch. Driveway to restaurant a mud track with plenty of stones so beware. Also very time consuming getting off main road and out again due to the bypass works and the traffic lights. As the restaurant was busy we were given a pager and we browsed around the shop until paged. Unfortunately once we got a table the restaurant was too noisy and the service so slow (apart from being given a menu on arrival no one came near us to even take an order for drinks) that we realised it would be a long time before we would get any food. We left and wont be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at Elveden Estate, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our establishment. Obviously the roadwork’s are out of our control, and the entrance to the courtyard complex is indeed via a track. We are aware of the track and hopefully improvements will be made in the future, however, it is worth noting that Elveden is a large working farm, as a result the roads do have some large machinery using them.
The restaurant does become very busy, and I apologise that you personally found it too noisy, I can also apologise it may have taken a few minutes for the team to serve you. I did speak to you on the day of your visit, and was surprised that you decided against waiting, as all food was coming out of the kitchen in good time and to the high standards we set ourselves.
Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    55
    15
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Go to the restaurant first so they can bleep you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We made the mistake of looking round the shops first before visiting the restaurant which was very busy so we were given a bleeper and were told there would be a table ready in half an hour if we wanted to look round the shops they would then beep us so we didn't wait but know what to do next time. A delightful complex to buy those special gifts for those special occasions or treating yourself to something a bit different. Tasting samples available on various vinegars, chutneys and a delicious carrot cake! Well worth a visit but not if you only have half an hour!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at Elveden Estate, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Elveden. As you rightly point out, the restaurant can become very busy leading to a wait time for tables. It is worth pointing out, that if time isn’t on your side, tables can be booked in advance either by phone (01842 898066) or via email (steve.pillinger@elveden.com) This way you can ensure a table will be ready for you!

Your comments have been shared to the whole team who will of course be happy to hear that their efforts have been appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you soon

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love Elveden :):):)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We live fairly nearby, we go up here for a chilled out coffee, every time we have been we have always had excellent food. Breakfasts are great, as are the meals, and snacks. I love the shopping and get most of my Christmas presents here as yo can buy lovely wines, cheeses, meats, sweets, boos , decorations and everything is such good quality.
The staff are always smiling and friendly. I have been here for our works Christmas dinner in dec 2012, a party of 27 and everyone was really happy with the food and the service. Christmas is a lovely time at Elveden with the dogs pulling the real Xmas trees to the car for charity. We also get our potatoes here, a big sack of them and they are lovely and keep really well. Things are not cheap here, but you get what you pay for at the end of the day!and I don't mind paying for it here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at Elveden Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Great to hear you always enjoy visiting us – we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Late Afternoon Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stopped in for a break and had a lovely experience. For full disclosure, as they say on radio, I have avoided giving the restaurant a 5 rating only because I was just stopping for a drink and a snack and did not have a cooked meal. That said, it remains a great little stop.

The cafe/restaurant has wooden floors and exposed beams. The tables are stone topped, and the windows look out over the courtyard (where there are also tables). The overall effect is pleasant and comfortable.

The service was good, and the server friendly and welcoming.

I had a very nice "homebaked" fruit scone which was served with salted butter, a nice clotted cream, and the "elveden jam" which was a bit tart, but very nice with the scone and cream. The hot chocolate was served in a mug, and was sweet and frothy.

The value for money was very good considering the quality of the scone and drink and the friendly service. Well worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at Elveden Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stop – we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lunch Time Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Called at friday dinner time, very busy but very good service from polite and friendly staff. The food is slightly expensive but very good quality and good value overall. Well organised bleeper waiting system if you want to tour the shops in the Courtyard while your table becomes available. Well stocked fresh food hall adjoins the restaurant. Would advise booking if you want a table at peak times. Close to Centre Parcs holiday village and adjacent to the A11, a good stop off point. I would recommend a visit. Out door seating in the Summer only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at Elveden Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent trip. Pleasing to hear your comments regarding your experience – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elveden Estate also viewed

Elveden, Suffolk
Thetford, Norfolk
 

Been to Elveden Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elveden Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.