We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Success Inn

Old Success Inn
Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
+44 1736 871232
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England.
tadley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited The Old Success years ago before it was taken over by the Brewery. it has lost its friendly feeling and home coked food. Still remains a charming place to stay with excellent sea views

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Poor can't even cook chips!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

3 meals with chips ordered and chips were cold and hard asked for replacement second time round the chips were hot and hard? Shame it was a nice pub but really chips are theeasiest thing to cook! It spoilt what would of been a lovely meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cracking seaside pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent a week on holiday with my folks and the kids in Sennen and the Old Success was a big part of the great time we had. We had a couple of meals and a few pints in here several nights. Bar staff could do with cracking a smile a bit more often but we had a great laugh last Saturday when a singer called Kai belted out some old and new classics on his guitar. Talented bloke. Lovely place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pub on seashore.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Brilliant pub so close to the waters edge, and as a surfer it's a no brainer! Food is good, beer is excellent, and staff very helpfull and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beer OK but indifferent bar staff and average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The night prior to starting a Land's End to John o'Groats cycle, I was staying up the road at a B&B and decided to go to the Old Success Inn for a drink and meal as opposed to a takeaway from the fish and chip shop. The beer, HSD from the St.Austell brewery was OK and I ordered fish and chips which came promptly. The fish and chips were OK I guess but the (tinned?) peas tasted very strange indeed. I found the bar staff very nonchalent (in a negative way) and the waitresses distant, not uttering a single word either on bringing the food or clearing the table. Maybe they're sick of tourists.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Success Inn also viewed

Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Success Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.