We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Ambiance ,avoid peak season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Restaurant

The Beach Restaurant
Sennen Cove, Sennen Cove TR19 7BT, England
+44 1736 871191
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Danbury U.K
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Food, Ambiance ,avoid peak season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stopped here, on the off chance, one evening in peak season ( August) , we obtained a table but told we would have to wait to order, but when we did, we were not dissapointed , there were 5 of us including a 12 year old and the food was excellent , and the service after the wait matched the food . There is a limited choice dinner menu, but a specials blackboard that I chose from , squid , Lobster curry , and a large dessert, the squid was a bit tough but the rest superb. ( I would rate this 5 * but for the squid special I did tell the server at the end of the meal after payment because overall this was a good experience which I would recomend .All the others in our party were delighted with the food and the service . This is right on the front at Sennen with excellent views of the bay wth outside tables , if you are visiting Lands End this is the place to eat .
I have posted pictures of the food and restaurant for information

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jeff

Thank you very much for writing this review we all appreciate it. Glad that most of your group enjoyed the food and sorry that the squid was not to your liking, We do sell quite a bit of squid usually without complaint but it does appear that for some reason it was not good enough during your visit. It can depend on a number of factors such as the size of the squid etc and it is an easy thing to get wrong. Just for the benefit of others reading and with respect to visiting in the peak season: clearly this is our busiest time of year and the restaurant will be full most evenings as it is regularly outside of the main season as well. If you book a table however this will make sure that you get the best possible service irrespective of the time of year. Bookings can also be taken online via our website. We do take walk in tables as well but during busy periods this may involving waiting for one to become available.

Thank you also for taking the photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    76
    44
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Book ur taxi home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We wanted to have a nice meal whilst staying in the area and having looked online, found this restaurant. Setting looked idyllic, menu looked good so I booked online for a Friday night.
When we arrived our table wasn't quite ready so the staff seated us at another table and took our drinks order whilst we looked at the menu....this table would've been fine, but a few minutes later the waitress/manageress came over and asked us would we like to move to the other table and as it was by the window of course we agreed.
The view is spectacular....we watched the sun setting, it looked like it was melting into the sea....but I digress!
The menu isn't extensive......we like this as it usually means that there are a few dishes really cooked well........instead of lots of dishes, not all of them cooked good! The waiter was friendly, took our order and we didn't have to wait too long before our meal arrived.
WOW......that's all I need to say.....the food was delicious....my husband (a chef for 35yrs) has never had scallops cooked so well....they melted in ur mouth! I had crab then seafood linguine.......gorgeous.....the seafood in the linguine changes dependent on what has been caught!
I really wanted dessert but I honestly couldn't eat another thing!! Neither could my hubby so we ordered coffee and enquired about a taxi! That's when the fun started......the local taxi firm has 1 taxi....and he was booked for another couple of hours......dilemma!
We got home, I'm not going to advertise how.......thanks dan! But the staff went above and beyond!
Overall, the setting is gorgeous, the restaurant tastefully decorated, the food superb and the staff attentive but not intrusive......what more can you want from a night out??

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. we are all glad that you enjoyed your visit so much. Hope that you can make it down again sometime and visit us some more. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a marvelous meal at The Beach. Came partly on recommendation and partly because of its fantastic beach location in Sennen Cove, but still we were surprised by how good it was.
The staff was cheerful and attentive and found us a nice table by the large windows so that we could admire the gorgeous sunset, although we hadn't booked.
I had an incredibly tasty sole, simply cooked in butter with capers, it was really beautifully made. My husband, who had a rump steak enjoyed it greatly too.
There is outdoor seating on the deck where you can have drinks.
I'd highly recommend it and would gladly go back. Great food and value, with a stunning view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, we really appreciate it. At the end of a long and busy summer season it means a lot to the staff to get this sort of feed back. We hope that you can visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Why go to the Caribbean ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Sitting outside on the terrace eating the catch of the day and drinking ice cold Pinot Grigio was just perfect. A table for 8 with 4 kids and all loved the food. With friendly attentive service looking at a perfect beach, why go to the Caribbean .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mark, thank you very much for visiting the restaurant and for writing this great review, we all appreciate it. Hope you can visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“disappointed this year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have been here several times over the years, and celebrated some special occasions.
This year it seems to have lost that edge. The food was good, not exceptional. We were there early evening but several things on the specials were unavailable, and there were not replacement options.
Weren't particularly helpful with dietary requirements either .
Staff very friendly, restaurant wasn't full all evening. But they were queues for the pizza's outside.
As it's always been good previously I will go again though

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Owner at The Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jo

Thank you for writing this review and so sorry that you did not enjoy the restaurant as much as on previous visits. The printed menu does change two or three times per year and the specials change daily as you would expect but do vary in quantities according to what we have. It is difficult for me to add any more as we are not really doing too much different to last year so hopefully if you visit again we will have some dishes that you will enjoy.

I don't know what happened with your dietary requirements as from my experience of working in the kitchen with the chefs is that they will do whatever they can to be helpful We can only apologise if this was not the case. I assume that we must have worked around these requirements in the past as you have chosen to eat with us again? For the benefit of others that may be reading this, it is helpful when booking a table (if booking online then there is a facility to add a comment) to state any special dietary needs. If we know about any specific problems in advance then it gives the chefs a chance to think about what they can do to help. This is always more difficult in the middle of a very busy evening service.

On the upside I am very glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We thank you for your custom and hope that next time we can earn that good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.