We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and relaxation, just what we were promised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Suffolk Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hintlesham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Suffolk Escape
Save
You added The Suffolk Escape to your Saves list
Priory Road | Northlands Farm, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peace and relaxation, just what we were promised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just got back from a Monday to Friday stay and I can honestly say this place is fab. Firstly Andrew the owner couldn't be more helpful before and during our stay. I've said this in other reviews but I only want to stay somewhere that is as good or better than my home and this far exceeded my expectations. It was not only spotlessly clean but beautifully decorated to a really high standard including the furnishings that were top notch. I've been struggling with a bad neck/migraines and the bed was so comfortable (i was pain free) I've just gone out and bought the same pillows and am considering getting the mattress too (as ours needs changing). The bathroom made me jealous and the lighting was well thought out. We were lucky with the weather and spent the whole time sunbathing, eating on the patio and dipping in the hot tub. It was all just perfect. As we have never rented a property before I didn't really know what was included but there was much more than I had expected from a hair dryer, hair straighteners, to BBQ tools. I didn't notice on the website but each cabin had a huge outside umbrella (I nearly made my other half bring our own) which was a godsend in the heat. All in all a highly recommended place to stay for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and found a good night's sleep on our beds. The mattresses had to be bespoke made due the huge 2m square beds so I am extra pleased the big investments was well worth it! Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been blessed with cloudless skies for our stay and fully intended to make the most of Suffolk. Should not have bothered packing, apart from a trip out for supplies we loved the place so much we spent our break relaxing and taking in the environment. The cabins are so well thought out with top end furniture and electrical gadgets. The bathrooms and bedrooms are relaxing enough on their own! We loved sitting in the hot tub at night star gazing, sitting around the chiminea, having a BBQ, watching the wildlife (ducks, swallows dunking in the water every hour and a hawk hunting overhead). Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, very helpful and friendly we will definitely be back and thank you for a wonderful stay, we wish you every success.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and the birds life kept you well entertained! We look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

4 of us enjoyed a very relaxing 3 night break here in the sunshine last weekend we stayed in Kersey , both bedrooms the same so no arguing, the whole cabin and outside seating area are all of very high quality, we all very much enjoyed experiencing the hot tub under the stars.
This is a great place to just chill. we are already looking to rebook for October
Andrew gave us some good recommendations of places to visit and restaurants , and thank-you for the scones and pastries in the fridge they were delicious !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us so much. I am glad you got to make the most of the hot tub and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in October...the wood stove will be awaiting your arrival! Warm regards, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely weekend break at this lovely place! We ate breakfast and dinners outside on the decking overlooking the lake in the sunshine. The cabins were beautifully decorated and were very clean and tidy. The fittings are all of a very high standard. Having the use of the hot-tub was a really unique and memorable treat! It was lovely to watch the ducks and swallows on the lake, and it will be even more special once the lake has established even more. This is a wonderful place to come and relax and enjoy lots of luxury whether you're lucky enough to have the sun, or for a cosy winter break. Andrew offered some good suggestions of days out and places to eat. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are well situated around the lake. Any is a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We always appreciate feedback, it makes all the hard work all the more worthwhile! You were so lucky with the weather and it was great to see you out enjoying the outside space and relaxing on the deck over the water in the sunshine....I was a little bit jealous!!! We look forward to hopefully getting the chance to host you again soon. Warm regards, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Such a beautiful and well thought out place. Andrew and his wife Sarah have built a unique 5 star retreat. They couldn’t do enough for us over an idyllic weekend in the country. It was everything we wanted it to be – country pursuits with a real taste of the outdoors but with a five star twist. Perfect. I can’t recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All the lodges are beautiful but I particulalry liked Lavenham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much and had a chance to relax and catch up with friends. We look forward to seeing you again one day soon. Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was it a gamble booking a log cabin on a farm in Suffolk that hadn't got much history. ?..
Well if it was it was a one horse race and Im a Winner.
We used this as a base for daily sight seeing trips of which there are many options, however it was nice to get back to the cabin every day.
To be honest I will go again but next time I may not bother going out, there's just no reason to everthing has been thought about and put in place at the highest level.
Did I say log cabin, ,, if it were Swiss we, d be calling it a luxury chalet. Luxury remember that.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and that your "gamble" with staying with a new site was well rewarded! Look forward to seeing you next time. Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A far cry from most of the log cabins I have stayed in! The cabins are exquisitely decorated, fully featured with an unsurpassable attention to detail. The outside decking extends over the lake which allowed us to enjoy al fresco breakfast and dinner with the anatidae neighbours. Suffolk is a beautiful county with much to offer, if you can tear yourself away from the cabin! I can’t recommend it more highly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your break so much and thank you for the kind words...hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suffolk Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suffolk Escape

Address: Priory Road | Northlands Farm, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic rural retreat in the heart of Suffolk offers peaceful escapes in 4 luxury 2-bedroom log cabins with woodstoves plus hot tubs on the edge of a lake. The cabins are finished to the highest standards including luxury ensuites, outdoor dining pontoon and LED TV’s. Our adult only cabins appeal to couples on romantic escapes and groups of friends wishing to catch up. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break then The Suffolk Escape will be perfect for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Suffolk Escape Hintlesham, England - Ipswich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suffolk Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.