We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hintlesham Hall to your Saves list
Hintlesham Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed at the rialto suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. beautiful location,suite very clean and comfortable,food was amazing,staff are fantastic. Would recommend to anyone and cant wait to go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    139
    39
    27
    11
See reviews for
50
355
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed three nights in June 2014, mainly attracted by the food reputation. A beautiful building - be sure to view it from the back as it originally was intended; it's much better than the later ffront facade. And the gardens are a lovely place to relax with a drink. Our first floor room was really quite nice with a comfortable seating area and Kingsize bed, though the bathroom somehow seemed lacking and tired. Sadly the food was mixed - my wife loved hers but my pork seemed almost as tasteless as the gravy beside it. Nicely prepared and presented but missed the target. All staff were really good - no quibbles on that count and we might (but only might) try again in case the chef was having a bad day. Value was good overall because we had found a deal online (which suggests falling trends to what was once a place of great reputation under Robert Carrier).

Room Tip: Spend five minutes to check out the back of the building (see the photos in June 2014). Avoid dates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A superb setting in countryside close to Ipswich.
Delightful gardens, a terrace for afternoon tea or a glass of wine before supper. Good staff and beautiful room in the eaves, with beams and huge shower room. Roll top bath near a window with view of rolling lawns, great bed, even the newspaper delivered very early. Lovely dinner in a paneled candlelit room was the highlight!
They need to build a good swimming pool, though David Lloyd members are 15 minutes away from a good indoor and outdoor pool, we recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: You may not manage the steep stairs into the top level rooms, which are still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights in this hotel which is certainly impressive as you approach through its extensive grounds. Reception is a large, odd, empty space with the receptionist hidden inside an alcove so first impressions a bit disorienting. Our room (Josephine) was large with a huge bed but an unlikely collection of antique reproduction furniture. The bathroom was a bit tired but had excellent toiletries. We also had a small patio outside but it was dirty as were the table and chairs.Our deal included dinner which was two courses priced at £25, not a lot of choice, and not memorable. We ate the second night in the George in the village, a ten minute walk away, see separate review. When we came down for breakfast (priced at £18.50 according to the menu), there were the usual choices, except that my wife's preferred option of smoked salmon and scrambled egg carried a £3.50 surcharge! The second morning both our breakfasts were served incorrectly, my wife asked for mushrooms and scrambled eggs but received a full English. When she told this to the waiter, he told her to eat what she wanted and leave the rest!! Service overall was rather cool and the hotel lacked special touches which we have come to expect in this type of establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and would certainly return. Very swift and efficient check-in and were shown to our room on the ground floor. The room, Tisane, was lovely - very spacious and tastefully decorated. Bathroom again, very spacious, two sinks, plenty of space for toilet bags etc., and a wonderful shower. My husband had an appointment in Ipswich and when he left I explored the grounds and the herb garden (wonderful odours) and the rose garden was beautiful with some wonderful colours. Top marks to the gardener. Our room also had a door that opened onto our own walled garden with wild roses - the smell was delicious. Also a table and two chairs where I passed some time reading my book. My husband wasn't due back for a couple of hours so I enquired about a manicure. There is no one on site but the hotel staff can call people in - which they did - and I ended up having a very enjoyable 2 hour manicure and pedicure which ticked all the boxes. Dinner was very good and we were very impressed with the standard of service - which is a good reflection on the restaurant manager. We had a wonderful uninterrupted nights sleep on a very good king sized bed. Breakfast was excellent - linen table cloths and napkins - things we like - fruit juice poured at the table into large wine glasses. Help yourself to fruit etc., and breakfast cooked to order. Again, service excellent as was the breakfast. No negatives to report. Beautiful quiet hotel about 20 minute drive from Ipswich. If we are down that area again we will certainly revisit. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: The Tisane on the ground floor was lovely, very quiet and had it own walled garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The location is secluded whilst being on the edge of Ipswich. The house is impressive set in peaceful and idyllic grounds. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were young but well trained and professional and welcoming. The food quality was acceptable without being spectacular, but not cheap and consequently could not be described as good value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

An elegant and charming country hotel in lovely grounds. Pretty much everything was spot on - friendly and helpful staff, wonderful "superior double" room with plenty of space, high ceiling, and a huge double bed. Even a private entrance into a small secluded terrace area with a space to park a car right next to it. The food was delightful and served in a small dining room opening onto the gardens at the rear of the hotel. A slight problem for the business traveller is the lack of a mobile phone signal (O2) and the rooms furthest away from the main entrance have a weak Wi-Fi reception despite a booster. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room ("superior") - not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for. Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hintlesham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.