We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit, but definitely not my last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Save Saved
You added Hintlesham Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hintlesham
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My first visit, but definitely not my last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Visited end of July- first day of August for a mid week break and to visit Constable Country. I am happy to confirm the positive comments about the staff, the accommodation and the food. I stayed in the Regatta Room which was spacious, and which enjoyed a pleasant view across the gardens. Huge bed, comfortable linen, and walk in ward-robe etc. Just a minor point, but the bath-room door would not close, and the bath had been strangely fitted so that to lie back and relax put you in danger of a head collision with the taps. There was also a wonderful gushing shower unit which was a less challenging alternative. Breakfast was excellent, good choice and prepared as requested. Definitely a place to visit and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    117
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
43
315
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We managed to get a two night break at the hotel through Secret Escapes. Let me first review the staff. In one word perfection. Every member we came into contact with, showed the perfect amount of attention and all were polite, helpful and professional. After 30 years in management I would be proud to have any one of them on my team.
The hotel is extremely well run, the room ( the heart of oak ) surpassed our expectations large, well appointed and full of character. The only downside (and this is not a moan) but the tv was playing up a little and changing channels was difficult.
the meal we had in the restaurant was superb
The discount we got through secret escapes made us feel a little guilty as the stay was worth the full price.
Overall a brilliant experience and we thank you.

Room Tip: the heart of oak is well worth the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Back in the early 90's I use to frequently stay at the Hintlesham as the service and standard of the rooms back then was exceptional. 20 years later I'm pleased to report that the standards have been maintained and my wife and I had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We stayed in "Ravilious" which was very comfortable, spacious and quirky (in a good way) room which I would recommend. In fact all the rooms I've ever stayed at the Hintlesham have always been decorated to a high standard and high comfort level.

We arrived quite late in the evening and wasn't really in the mood for a formal dinner but the Bar Menu had a good selection of dishes and was priced reasonably and actually was pretty good value, so I would recommend this if you are not in the mood for a 3-4 course dinner,

Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of cereals, breads, croissants, juices, etc, and of course the full English breakfast.

The only negative comment I have is that the wi-fi is a bit dodgy. In our room (top floor) and in the breakfast room the signal was weak and kept dropping out. But would this put me off staying again? Absolutely not - I highly recommend the Hintelsham and hope that it's not another 20 years before I can stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Siayed 2 nights here, cannot say more then what as already been said.

We stayed in the Queen Anne Suite with a huge comfy bed, which had lovley bed linen. The bathroom had a bath and shower and nice fluffy towels.
Food was amazing, both dinner and breakfast, very well presented and tasted divine!
Staff friendly and very professional. If staying here you must have a walk around the grounds which have been well kept and boasts a wonderful Herb garden.
We are already looking to go back.

Room Tip: Queen Anne Suite amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had the most enjoyable & relaxing stay @ HH this weekend. Nothing to fault at all. Absolutely first class. The accomodation, food, grounds all superb add the most efficient & pleasant staff and you have the right mix for a most wonderful experience. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: Stayed in a superior room away fromn the main house. Very quiet. Car parking set discreetley away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight whilst visiting Suffolk, we stayed in 'Celia B' and although the room had a cigarette burn on the net curtain (naughty someone) and the wall paper was showing signs of fatigue, the room is still delightful and very clean. Television in the rooms has numerous channels and good quality picture.

We went out on the Saturday evening but when we returned we found our curtains drawn, bed turned-down, cups cleaned and fresh towels in the bathroom. Excellent touch Hintlesham Hall! Truly appreciated as well…

There are signs all over the hotel that some renovation has taken place (main dining room), and signs that more may ensue? The hotel is quite easy to find just through Hintlesham village!

The staff are indeed superb, both reception, bar and cleaning staff — I have to say that they made our stay very enjoyable. Bianca helped my wife and I on several occasions.

I simply cannot praise the staff enough for the welcome and attention to guests they give.

The breakfast was superb, a full English and anything you desire really — lovely local sausages.

Yes, would stay again. Wonderful place.

Room Tip: TIP: If approaching the main gate turning from Ipswich end - be aware of on-coming traffic as you tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at HH,taking advantage of a good value package.The place is stunning ,however being upgraded.Our room (Gloria) was spacious ,well appointed,but dark.The beds and bathroom first class.The real feature is the food coupled with amazing service! Gone are the stuffy old waiters looking down their noses-in place dedicated young friendly people wanting to give pleasure.We have stayed in top places throughout the world and not met such first class restaurant staff.We should not forget the food which was superb.
Place could do with a gym and a pool.The Grounds were wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for one with plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hintlesham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.