We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hintlesham Hall to your Saves list
Hintlesham Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed at Hintlesham last weekend, we have eaten before but never stayed over, we had one of the rooms in the grounds and it was beautiful, everything you could wish for fantastic bed, and pillows, lovely bathroom, shower could have been a bit more powerful if I was being critical. the food, wine and service where exemplary from the second we arrived, had a wonderful stay and couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: we looked at a couple of inside rooms full of character but not for me, and the top floor is a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    139
    39
    27
    11
See reviews for
50
355
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bickley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day trip, which was booked through Secret Escapes at a 60% discount. Had i paid the publicised rate, I would have felt cheated. I think the rate we payed represented fair-ish value.

We stayed in the Rosette room in the main house. This room is massive, and looks out onto the lovely manicured lawns of the back garden and the picturesque pond. The room itself was very comfortable with a huge fire place and splendidly decadent bed in four poster style. My only criticism was the slightly tired carpet, and slightly antiseptic smell as we entered the room. Whilst the floors slope in all directions, this rather adds to the charm.

So, whilst the accommodation was good, I could not say the same for the food. The head chef has worked at the hotel for 20 years, and it shows. The menus and presentation of the food reminded me of a pre-fine dining era, when people paid top prices for unimaginative and disappointing food. The menu lists starters at £12, mains at £24, with deserts at £9. I would not baulk at paying these prices were the food and service top-notch, but sadly , it is average at best.

Similarly the breakfasts are so-so and breathtakingly overpriced at £18. Make sure you book the package deal with meals included, otherwise it will tarnish your trip. On the second night, we ate at the King's Head in Hadleigh nearby, which was outstanding for a pub, with far better food at 50% of the price. Well worth a visit.

All-in-all, a good trip to a grand old house that serves poor to average food

Room Tip: Rosette room is huge with a great bed and fireplace and super views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just come back from a short stay in this hotel and I must say, it was a lovely experience. Our room was just delightful and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and most helpful. I would have no problems in recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on an offer c/o Tickles. A really nice room in separate block from main hotel. The clock room was a good room but different to those on web site. Staff very helpful and friendly, and thankfully carried case up to our room. I was surprised we had no biscuits on our hospitality tray, not what I expect from hotel of this caliber. I was disappointing in the continental breakfast it was extremely basic and not always topped up, shame as it was areal let down to the hotel.
We had a lounge meal which was very nice and served well, found the restaurant a little too expensive for our pocket. Grounds were good to walk round but in need of TLC.
I would return again as the experience for the price was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we have just had one night of sheer indulgence, Hintlesham Hall was a speceal treat and it came up to our expectations. i couldnt help giving a sharp intake of breath when i saw our room, a huge bed, lovely furniture, very fluffy towels and realy good qaulity toiletries. The whole building still has the feel of austerity and history about it. The staff were really good, great at there jobs and fun to have a chat with. The restaraunt was very expensive, well it was for us!!! so we ate from the other menu which you could eat in any of the other rooms, the staff set the table wherever you choose to eat, the food was excellent, the best chocolate brownies ever. Its really near some lovely places to visit like Flatford Mill and Dedham. I cant wait to go back and sit on the lovely veranders and look out on the grounds while we choose our food of the menu, ahhh sheer luxury

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit so much and that our famous home-made chocolate brownies found such favour with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a package through Secret Escapes. Our room was in a separate block to the main house and while nice it was nothing like the publicity pictures. The staff, apart from the poker faced receptionist, were friendly and approachable. The Fitness Centre was closed while we were there.

The good things about this hotel, excellent dining and decor creating a very luxurious environment.

The down sides, the receptionist good have been a bit more friendly and welcoming, even given us a smile after battling traffic for 4 hours to get there. The breakfast was forgettable, an exceptionally poor buffet for continental breakfast, cold pastries, dried up fruit salad and not a lot of it. The cooked breakfast was nothing to write home about. The bar was not manned on the second night and we had to go to reception to get a waiter to serve us after dinner.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived after a 2 and 1/2 hours journey to be greeted by this beautiful Hall before us as we drove up the entrance. We were greeted by a lovely girl who after registeration had our luggage taken to our room. Well the door opened onto a large room full of oak beams, old furniture and a very welcoming Queens size bed. We took a stoll around the lovely gardens of this old building and and we found a place to rest in the Herb Garden in the full sun shine. A great way to relex.
We had our first night meal in the Restaurant after drinks in the lounge. What a fabulous meal and desert we were served. One of the best meals that we have had the pleasure to eat.
Breakfasts were served in the restaurant everything was cooked to your liking and freashly done.
We would certainly recommend that you give this Hall a try for yourself and if we were right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hintlesham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.