We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revitalized hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hintlesham Hall to your Saves list
Hintlesham Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Revitalized hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hintlesham Hall changed hands fairly recently. It has been with several owners since Ruth Watson got it back on its feet but in recent times the quality had fallen off, but not the prices. I am now happy to report that, although still relatively expensive, the quality is fully restored. The setting of the hotel in extensive grounds is being carefully preserved and I believe that further improvements are planned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    139
    39
    27
    11
See reviews for
49
356
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hounslow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A first class stay in a wonderful country house .The rooms,the food and all the staff were all of a very high standard. We traveled with Secret Escapes so had the benefit of discounted prices which made the trip even more enjoyable.The health spa and pool were being refurbished so we can not comment on their standard , but the golf course at the rear of the Hotel looks to be a good challenge . Youg children may find it a bit boring !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyhire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a fine hotel, looks good from the outside and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, the basic rooms are not good - but they agreed to upgrade our room, which was better - it's in need of a refurbishment of the bedrooms. The public rooms are excellent and there is enough staff to provide excellent service - which they did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketton, England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Set in an attractive parkland estate, Hintlesham Hall is a beautiful old building that oozes "Olde English" charm. Bits of the outside shows signs of faded glory and need more than a touch of tender loving care but the inside is high quality country house. We stayed with two friends and had an absolutely wonderful time.

The staff were, without fail, friendly and helpful, giving the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. Our superior room was tucked away up a series of twisting stairs but was large, very quiet and very comfortable, although it seemed a little strange to have a bath in the bedroom and the expanse of surrounding tiling was cold on unclad feet. We arrived in the late afternoon, having had tea in nearby Lavenham, and went for a walk around the attractive grounds ending up in the associated Hintlesham Golf Club. There we were made very welcome and had a few gin & tonics and a well kept pint of Adnams bitter in the Stud Bar that overlooks the course.

In the evening, we met up in a small but comfortable lounge near the bar and ate canapes while sipping our drinks until called to our table in the dining room. The four of us eat out quite often and have taken in some excellent restaurants. Therefore, the descriptions of "Amazing food" "Brilliant meal" are set against a high quality background. We absolutely loved the meal chosen from the a la carte menu; one of the best we have had anywhere for a long time. After a good night's rest, we loved the breakfast as well. All in all a wonderful night away, in a lovely building, with excellent food and great staff.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger and are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise for my birthday through secret escapes. The hotel is a conversion of an old baronial hall and exudes charm and character. The dog came too and he was well looked after. We were given a room with external access, a rug for him to sleep on, two bowls and a packets of dog treats! We were looked after too. The room was spacious, if a bit tired, but warm and very comfortable in every way. We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room, which can only be described as palatial! A grand high ceilinged room, which for its size was unusually lovely and warm. service was attentive without being intrusive. The food was superb! All in all a nice place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have visited Hintlesham Hall for a pre Christmas long weekend break every year for the past decade. Sadly our experience last December was such that we have decided it will be or last. The qualities that caused us to return year-after-year have, sadly, largely disappeared. Room cleanliness, reception staff and overall service are now average at best, where previously they were excellent. The proverbial 'straw that broke..' Was an 4 am fire alarm which caused us to have to evacuate the hotel. It was a vase alarm, and of corse these things happen. What was unforgivable however was no apology or explanation from any staff. We won't be going back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so sorry that our fire alarm has caused you to choose not to return after so many years of staying with us. Being so cold last December, and so early in the morning, it was hugely disruptive for everyone. However the safety of our guests is paramount and we have no choice but to follow procedures. The Duty Manager made every effort to apologise to every guest of the hotel (and we were full) at the time of the event but if she inadvertently missed you out we can only say sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

After spending a delightful weekend visitng friends in Essex my husband and I decided to extend our stay and treat ourselves to a night at Hintlesham Hall, courtesy of an exceedingly good B&B rate through Secret Escape. We arrived a little jaded, having enjoyed all aspects of our friends' hospitality, and were impressed by the tranquil setting of the hotel. We had time to wander around the grounds and can only imagine what a picture they would be when the many bulbs burst through to herald the Spring. Our room, Pavilion, was surprisingly spacious...there being a sitting area with two comfy chairs, a generous coffee table plus television; as a previous reviewer wrote, it was lovely not to have to sit/perch on the bed.
The bathroom was huge - lovely large bath and a shower at one end of the room big enough for two! The bath towels were very generous, although there were bathrobes available too...and the room was appropriately warm. Having enjoyed a superb Sunday roast earlier we did not choose the DBB option and so partook of a snack, which we ate in the Bar. The menu was varied offering sandwiches and hot meals; I had Welsh rarebit and my husband an omelette. Despite the fact that the bar was not manned and taking into consideration that other guests were arriving to dine, the staff did not 'forget' us and we were looked after. We remained the only ones in the bar which we found relaxing, obviously being a Sunday night could have played a part in this, but it was perfectly comfortable and the music suitably low key. We did have a wander around the ground floor after our meal and, as mentioned, there were several areas where one could sit and read or even play Scrabble infront of a roaring log fire. We retired to our room and enjoyed a very good night's sleep in the exceedingly comfortable bed Refreshed we went for breakfast which was perfectly adequate, the format much the same as most hotels nowadays. I choose not to have tea with my breakfast, I prefer it at the end of the meal. When that moment arrived and our plates were being cleared, I was impressed that the young waiter, Dan I believe, remembered and offered me my tea then. All in all a lovely stay...we felt revived and recharged and for the rate we paid it was certainly excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: Hintlesham Hall, Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hintlesham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.