We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monsoon Villa to your Saves list
Monsoon Villa
No #103, Colombo Road, Puttalam, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One word...Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Monsoon villa is like no other. My stay there was amazing that I have actually returned to monsoon villa quite a few times after my first stay. The food is impeccable and service is brilliant. The pool allows you to relax and cool off. I also loved the towers where we sat and watched the sunset. It was perfect. I would recommend anyone coming to Sri Lanka to go and stay at monsoon villa. It is one of a kind. I have never seen anything like it before.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Anyone looking for a taste of the real Sri Lanka this is the place to visit. The hospitality of the staff was impeccable, they seemed to know what we wanted before we did! The food was out of this world, I've never had seafood so fresh! Located close to the Wilpattu Wildlife Reserve, this is the ideal place for those wildlife enthusiasts, looking to come back to mouth watering food and a comfy bed after a tiring day of leopard watching. Want to relax in style? GO HERE.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Monsoon Villa is perhaps the most fascinating villa I've stayed in, to date. It's rich heritage is embodied in its spectacular architectural detail. The two, white towers overlooking the puttalam lagoon honour you with a true sense of royalty! Not to mention, the scrumptious, seafood meals fit for a king - with generous portions of crabs and prawns spread over a 16-seater dining table. We also ordered the traditional biriyani which was a tantalizing treat for the tastebuds. The staff were very obliging and ran the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Taking into account the state-of-the-art swimming pool and other amenities (wifi, dialog tv, etc), this villa does not fall short of its expectations. Kudos to the owner who has so impeccably restored and immaculately maintained this mansion!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This refurbished colonial bungalow teleports one back to the days of the British raj. The waterfront setting is gorgeous. The hospitality is fabulous! I would strongly recommend this villa for anyone seeking adventure and a glimpse to Sri Lanka's colonial past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

An amazing place located just 125 kms from colombo. Very central if you want to visit Kal pity, Wilpattu or even Anuradhapura.

Clean and cosy rooms with the whole staff at your beck and call

The food is simply amazing and the staff will ensure you are well fed. Very generous portions.

The place is kept immaculately clean

Superb pool

Don't forget to go see the 2 beagles, the turkeys and the birds and the children's play area situated in the car park





for us

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This ancestral home's rich history is evident in the decor and interior of the house. The owner has obviously strived to preserve the history whilst refurbishing it into the beautiful getaway it is and he has done an incredible job.

You will be well looked after and taken care of and the facilities are top class. It is a little oasis and you will return from your stay at Monsoon Villa feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.

In keeping with the high standards, the food is also absolutely superb. Using ingredients sourced locally, the food is fresh and delicious!

I highly recommend this villa and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monsoon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsoon Villa

Address: No #103, Colombo Road, Puttalam, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Puttalam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Puttalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monsoon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.