We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!! visit on a clear sunny day in mid morning, you can get the best views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knuckles Mountain Range

Knuckles Mountain Range
Kobonilla, Hunnasgiriya, Sri Lanka
+94 71 499 7666
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knuckles Mountain Range is the best place in Sri Lanka for longer days trekking and camping.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!! visit on a clear sunny day in mid morning, you can get the best views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I loved the breath-taking views...!!! Absolutely wonderful!! The surrounding is so calm and serine... I also enjoyed the hikes through the forest...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“eye candy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

this range is one of the most beautiful places i have visited. you can keep and keep looking at mountains with natural beauty. Deep valleys with many waterfalls and plains. well worth a visit. try to do a hike if you capable.you can get lost in the jungle for days and days, we did a four day hike

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Green and pleasant, beautiful scenery, well worth the trip

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on tour
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Stay at Corbett's Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed at Corbett's Rest and were treated like royalty. Food was amazing. A real experience with electricity between 6 and 10 and hot water brought by one of the hosts. The jungle walks were amazing and the upper slopes looked like the set of Lost. Local villagers happy to show you their daily lives. Stars at night so clear. Road a challenge.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very hard trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We went to the Knuckles Ranges with a company we found through www.srilankatrekking.com. The trip was professionally run. The guide very helpful and friendly. Good food was provided and lots of info about the local area. They brought along spray for the many leeches (beware of these and wear boot if possible) and even provided tooth picks at the end of our lunch. The view from the top was superb. We didnt climb the mountain but still thought it was amazing on the plateau. the one negative was that the climb up by the waterfalls was extremely difficult. We do alot of walking in Australia and I've never encountered a walk like this and found it almost too hard. The track had been cut through the jungle virtually straight up the incline instead of following the contours in places. this resulted in sheer walls to try and climb and it was very slippery with no hand holds as most of the plants gave way when you pulled them. This part of the track lasted a couple of hours and was very difficult so if you arent particularly fit it may be challenging. Mind you I'm not that fit and almost 50 so .....
The company did a great job, would recommend the trek for those of you who dont mind a hard climb and some leeches.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knuckles Mountain Range also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Knuckles Mountain Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knuckles Mountain Range, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.