We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE, WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commercial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Commercial to your Saves list
The Commercial
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 St Just B&B and Inns
GLYNDE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE, WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable super-clean warm bedroom. Breakfast was superb with local produce. We visited for the St Just Feast weekend which was one of the best events I have been to, the singing of local mining, fishing any Cornish folk songs was moving beyond words. La Frowda in July also has to be seen to be believed and Paul and Michelle at The Commercial support and carry on these amazing traditions. We used the Restaurant too, gorgeous local fish. Our third and not our last visit, thanks to everyone for making us so welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to see St Just,s square and all it's events and shops. Quieter in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review. We are delighted that keep returning to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
73
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatherleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Booked online and my husband had arranged a surprise for when we arrived with Paul. A rose and petals + a bottle of prosecco in the room, made it so special. Thank you so much! Lovely evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was lovely and relaxed. Room very clean and spacious, enough room to put our little girls moses basket. The staff were very friendly and approachable. Can't fault the place. Will definitely use this place again :-)

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your "mini honeymoon" with us. We try to cater for any special requests that our guests might ask of us in order to make their stay as perfect as possible. Thank you for your fantastic feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Booking made direct with hotel by 'phone, confirmed by email, and with deposit paid of one night's tariff. Better rate secured than with agencies.

The hotel has been proudly run by the same family for over a century. Paul is the present inheritor of this legacy. His engaged, no-nonsense style, his shrewd guidance as to the many local landmarks, and his management flexibility, are welcome traits. Michelle, Paul's sister, has a discreet supervisory role with the young, and quite excellent chef, whose imaginative, varied menu choices are most appealing. We therefore dined in the hotel restaurant on all four evenings. Its well-trained, young staff were both competent in service and agreeable in disposition. The dining conservatory is a highly attractive feature of this impressive hotel. The hotel is situated in the town square, but with no disadvantages from this location: it is quiet, quaint, and convenient for shops and free car park. It also offers a special relationship with the adjacent laundry.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is good to be able to show our staff that all their hard work is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The rooms were clean with a comfortable bed and the breakfast was fantastic. We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was lovely and the even reserved a nice window seat for us.

But the thing that makes the comercial stand out for us were the people from the staff to the locals who were all friendly we even have a drink in the local rugby club. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend stay here at the Commercial. In particular we are glad that you enjoyed mixing in with our great locals who are a huge part of the experience here at our inn. We are very lucky to be able to welcome guests and locals to our premises and love it when everyone mixes in and has fun. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed at the Commercial Hote, St. Just for a few days in late September 2014. My wife and daighter had stayed previously a few years ago. This time was also with our eldest son and one of his children. The hotel staff are very friendly and the meals were delicious. There is a large 24/7 free car park a few minutes walk from the hotel as well as 4 pubs to choose from! The rooms are a little basic but clean and comfortable. Well recommended!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meals and overall stay with us and are always glad to welcome returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed two nights recently whilst visiting the area and after looking at the local competitors we plumped for The Commercial. The room we chose was a double en-suite and whilst the hotel was clean, the breakfast was fantastic and the employees were some of the warmest, friendliest staff of all the hotels we've stayed at, the only thing that stops me ranking this as 'excellent' was that the en-suite bathroom smelled slightly of stale urine. That aside, we would definitely use the hotel again if we come back to the area - the rest of the stay was faultless.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would come again. As with many of these reviews it is very difficult for us to trace comments back to a specific room but in response to your comments about the bathroom smell we have just recently installed a new saniflow system into one of our en-suites as the old one was beginning to fail. When these systems get blocked or need replacing as was the case here certain toilet odours become symptomatic of the problem. We are certain that this would have been the case with your room. Our plumber lives in St Just and we always keep spare system on site for just such problems. Perhaps, therfore, it could have been dealt with at the time of your stay had we known. unfortunately, with the inn dating from the early 1800s, we do have to have saniflow systems in some of our rooms in order to connect to the existing plumbing infrastructure.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Commercial and squeeze that "excellent" out of you next time. We thank you again for your comments and hope that you see that we take them very seriously and implement repairs/ changes wherever necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

A very warm welcome on arrival, we were shown all areas re- bar restaurant, garden room. There is a nice outside seating area out back. The room although a clean small double was adequate for our two night stay with a good size en-suite with bath + overhead shower.It was on the side of the building so you could hear the early morning dray delivery and Co-op ones but we did sleep with the window open. Breakfast served in the garden room was very good, plenty of choices, cereals, fruit and yoghurt , there was a menu for choosing cooked breakfast which we had both mornings. We have already booked for next July.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. We couldn't have a better recommendation than your repeat business next year. We notice you have booked for our Lafrowda weekend so you will see us at our absolute busiest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial

Address: 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Just
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commercial is a former coaching inn and has been run by the same family for over 100 years. We offer 4 star VisitBritain accredited inn accommodation and pride ourselves on the warm Cornish welcome we extend to all guests and customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Commercial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commercial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.