We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospere & charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commercial

The Commercial
13 Market Square | Penzance, St Just TR19 7HE, England
01736 788455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in St Just
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Commercial is a former coaching inn run by the same family for over 100 years. We are an inn offering excellent value home cooked food using the fantastic local produce available to us wherever possible. There is a full bar menu with weekly specials for that extra something special. There is a small cosy dining room the Lounge at the front of the building and a light airy Conservatory dining room to the rear
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmospere & charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel and resaurant conveniently situated in the heart of St Just in Penwith (not in Roseland, that's a different St Just!). The food was very good, particularly the crab for lunch and the ample breakfast served in the attractive conservatory style dining room.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have recently had a weeks holiday near St Just and we ate at The Commercial Hotel on a Friday evening. We decided to eat in the bar and we discovered the food to be very good. with good portions and good value. Also the waitress was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We are hoping to return to Cornwall agaiin soon, and we would definitely return to The Commercial for another meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant and our food was just remarkable again. Of course we had to have fish. My husband had the chowder and said it was just remarkable. I had there fish pancakes and they were delicious filled with crab, shrimp and sole, covered in a wonderful cheese sauce, just mouth watering. Their wine list is great and not expensive. The ambiance in the restaurant is great and done like an atrium. Service is wonderful and we will certainly return next time we visit Cornwall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Commercial, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“eat out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

pleasent surroundngs, good food, reasonable prices

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very pleasant dining in conservatory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good hearty fare (steak and ale pie, apple pie) washed down with excellent Cornish beer in light and airy conservatory. A bonus for solo travellers is an interesting selection of books to read while waiting, including (not sure why) quite a few quite highbrow French paperbacks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. The "swap" library/bookshelves are for the benefit of our guests who come to stay with us. We are also happy for customers to browse there or read the coffee table magazines whilst dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commercial also viewed

 

Been to The Commercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commercial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.