We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with a Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Balm Beach Resort
15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Value with a Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the Balm Beach Resort which is a local favorite when wanting to beach not far from home. While the rooms are small, they are more than adequate for a weekend getaway to the beach.

Cozy, comfy, clean with great staff and close to every amenity you will ever need for your stay.

Lots of area attractions for couples or family with children. You cannot beat the location or price for this area. Not to mention the free parking.

I have stayed at Balm Beach Resort before as it's the closest to the water and it's family owned and operated which I like.

Can't wait for my upcoming stay!

Room Tip: Any Room is Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There aren't enough great things we can say about our stay at the Balm Beach Resort. We spent an early October weekend here and while most of the attractions at Balm Beach were shut down and it was too cold to go swimming it didn't take away from how wonderful our stay at the resort was. The rooms are perfect for 2-3 adults (or could very easily fit a family with two children), the bed was super comfy and the kitchenette was stocked with everything we needed. The bbq facilities were the best I've ever used. Mark ensured that we had everything we needed and we had a blast hanging out with him at the bonfire.
It's not hard to see why so many people come back here year after year...a friendly atmosphere, great beach and excellent accommodations, it's the perfect vacation spot...we're planning to visit again next fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I still cannot get over what a great time we had. We had such a unexpected great time we booked again.

Firstly, Balm Beach Resort is truly a place where you can relax and just enjoy! Balm Beach Resort has the ideal location, directly across the beach and close to the arcade and Go-Karts. Great place to go with your kids. The units are not the largest but they are so clean and the price is just right!

I never thought in a million years I would have liked it as much as I did. The owner truly makes you feel like you’re at home. Lit a bonfire at night, we roasted marshmallows and met some very interesting people. You can’t ask for anything more! It truly was a great vacation.

Room Tip: The size of the units are small so make sure your kids aren't too big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was looking for a restful spot, far from crowds and very far from corporate merchandising, with water in close proximity--and I found it! Balm Beach has the quiet, low-key, cozy intimacy that I may last have enjoyed as a child in 1960s family vacations. If it weren't such a long drive (I live in the US; had to be in Ontario for various reasons) I'd be there every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from Balm Beach Resort and it was the most relaxing vacation I’ve had in a long time. Went with a friend who had been there before but to be honest I had never heard of Balm Beach until just over a week ago but now I am raving about it to everyone! The beautiful view from our room and the beach just steps away...you couldn’t ask for a better place to stay.
The rooms were very clean and well kept. Everything you need was provided and all you had to do was bring coffee or whatever groceries you wanted or just go out to one of the restaurants a short walk down the street. There is also an arcade where kids (young and old) can enjoy all sorts of games from Skee Ball to Pinball.
Mark is an excellent host/owner. He makes you feel right at home and was very accommodating if you required anything.
We met guests that have been going there for a number of years and we had such a wonderful time with them. It’s always a pleasure meeting new people and at BBR they were all so friendly and treated the resort like a home away from home.
On the day we had to check out we put our stuff in the car and Mark was kind enough to accommodate parking so that we could soak up some extra sun and hang out a little longer with friends we had made. We were very sad to leave but will definitely be going back!
I almost don’t want to tell anyone about this place…sometimes you just want to keep the secret all to yourself…
Antonella (Windsor, Ontario) and Tiz (Toronto, Ontario)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed for a few nights with 2 adults 2 kids. The room was small but we are only in the room to sleep. The room was clean and comfortable, had everything we needed in the kitchen. The pull out bed is small great for kids 10 and under might struggle with anyone bigger than that if you are trying to put 2 in the bed. Mark was very helpful and freindly. Great bonfire each night and shuffleboard. Lots to do in walking distance; gocart, arcade, beach store, resturant. The beach is just across the street (which is quite slow as everyone is really just looking around). Beach was great soft sand, the water was warm for Labour Day weekend. Beach fills up early if you want a good spot better pick one by 11am.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has a little deck close to road and looking at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just got back from our second year at BBR. Its a beautiful spot to spend a week or two with the kids or as a couple. Great bang for your buck. Everything you need is there and if its not its just down the road. Your host, Mark is a great guy and does his best to make sure your stay is relaxing and stress free. We've already booked for next year. Not sure what the whiny reviews were about. (The beach was rocky? lol) (Some woman couldnt deal with a portable stove? lol) I guess some people cant put things in perspective. Ive stayed in many places around the world and the BBR is certainly in the top 5 that combine affordability with beauty and charm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balm Beach Resort

Address: 15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Balm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balm Beach Resort Located on the world's longest freshwater beach. We are one of Georgian Bay's best kept secrets. We are a destination resort that provides you the pleasures of the beach and the calming effects of the sparkling waters of Georgian Bay. The Balm Beach area is full of attractions for those looking for a family adventure including nightly bonfires and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balm Beach Hotel Perkinsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.